Why Are Tuesdays So Random?

 

I’m not sure why it happens this way, but Tuesdays are usually filled with such randomness around the blog.  Very odd.  Very odd, indeed.

Well, there’s no reason to delay this week’s batch of this-that-n-th’other.  Here goes.

  1. How about last night’s episode of The Bachelor? (Be sure to click over to I Hate Green Beans sometime in the next 24 hours or so for Lincee’s recap.  And get ready to laugh your head off.)   Here’s my humble take on things.  (A)That Jason… he’s a smoocher, huh?  (B)I can’t help but wonder how much input the producers have when it comes to who stays.  Because keeping Megan and Erica couldn’t have been Jason’s idea.  Without those two, there might not be a cat-fight.  However, with them, an all out brawl is sure to occur.  Oh my.  I see scratching and hair-pulling in next week’s episode. (C)And then there’s the stalker, Shannon.  All I can say is Beware!  (D)I especially liked the bachelorette, whose name escapes me for the moment, who said that she was glad she didn’t get the one-on-one date with Jason because she wouldn’t have known what to do with her hair.  I think that shows that she’s ready for a deeply committed relationship, but perhaps it’s with Paul Mitchell or Vidal Sassoon rather than our bachelor, Jason.  
  2. Speaking of hair, Hallelujah!, I have an appointment Wednesday for a cut and color.  And we all know this sista needs several days in that salon chair.  Amen?  Amen.  It’s been about four months since I’ve had a full day of hair-care, and I’m thinking of changing things up.  When I say “cut,” I mean a real CUT.  (Now, people like myself with long, horsey faces can’t go short-short.  Otherwise we’d all be rounded up and put in the starting gates at the Kentucky Derby, and while I’d love to attend the Derby, I would prefer that my outfit include a great big hat covered in teapots and pheasant feathers and not a shiny, satiny number 9 jersey and a bridle.)  In addition to the oddly long face that I have, there’s also the hair itself to consider.  It’s naturally curly, and not necessarily in a good way.  It’s not like I can hop out of the shower and let it dry naturally and look like Felicity.  Even with natural curls, I have work on it — mouse, diffuser, blah…blah…blah.   Wearing it straight takes a pretty hefty time commitment, not to mention about three or seventeen brushes and an industrial-strength flat iron.  So, short hair isn’t an option, but if I don’t cut some of the length off soon, you can see me the first Saturday in May at Churchill Downs wearing the number 9……
  3. There was a great post by Chris at Notes From the Trenches yesterday about a contest involving Quaker Oatmeal and ending world hunger.  You might want to check it out.  (She’s a great photographer, so it’s always interesting to see what pictures she posts.)
  4. I’ve been a sporadic reader of The Pioneer Woman’s blog/online empire, but it’d been a while since I checked in.  The other night I started reading about how she and Marlboro Man met and fell in love.  Have y’all read it?  You really don’t have to because I’m sure it’s going to be made into a movie at some point.  M-E-R-C-Y!  And if you haven’t read it and decide to read it, it’ll just make you come this close to yelling at your husband, “Why haven’t you rescued me in the middle of nowhere at midnight and kissed me until my knees disappeared?”  I haven’t even gotten all the way through their story, and I’ve already hollered those words at least 347 times at my sweet and very confused husband.  (He doesn’t read MY blog, so he has no idea who the Pioneer Woman is.  He’s probably the only person on earth who doesn’t.)

Well, there you have it.

Randomness.  I warned you.  It’s just a regular old Tuesday around here, folks.  

I hope your Tuesday is infinitely more interesting.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tatersmama
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 02:15:51

    A SPORADIC reader of Pioneer Woman? Honey, you don’t know what you’re missing!! Go read… GO GO !
    I sat down and read through the archives like I had nothing better to do (like shower and eat and go to bed) and let me tell you, I *swooned* through the whole thing!
    There are probably millions of men throughout the world who curse the name “Marlboro Man”!
    As much as I love my guy, I’ve never had a good hiney tingle in my life!

    Reply

  2. Mrs Lemon
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 09:52:59

    I can see I need to not read your blog on Tuesdays until AFTER I’ve seen The Bachelor online. Although, I did assume Erica & Megan would stay because all the other girls are so mellow.

    Reply

  3. JLI
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 11:41:09

    Your husband isn’t the only person in the world. I’m guilty! Who? What? Guess I need to drop in on it and see what all the hubbub is about!

    Reply

  4. Naturally Caffeinated Family
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 13:49:25

    Hi TaterMama! thanks for all of your sweet comments, I appreciate them so much! 🙂 So, I didn’t see all of the bachelor but I can’t wait to see your hair it’ll look great! Don’t they say that if you have a long face short hair looks good because you don’t have to have long hair to make your face or neck look longer?! A friend with a long face who always had long hair went short and it looked great! Can’t wait to see 🙂

    *********************************************
    I’d love to see a picture of the haircut your friend got! I’ve had short hair several times, and it depends on the cut. I also had my hair chemically straightened back then, too, so it made it a lot easier to manage. I think as long as we long-faced folks don’t go pixie-short we’re going in the right direction. I’m envious of gals who can wear a cute, sassy short cut. They always look so put-together, and goodness knows they don’t have to spend much time getting ready!

    I’m so glad to see you back in bloggyland, NCF!

    Reply

  5. Heather
    Jan 13, 2009 @ 17:07:30

    I’m expecting a before and after haircut/color post to be appearing on here sometime soon! Don’t forget to bring your camera with you for our viewing pleasure ;).

    *********************************
    Oh, my! The pressure is on! Haha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

