Flashback Friday: Feeling Red, White, and Blue

What would we do without Boo Mama? The other day she posted a link to My Tiny Kingdom, so I wandered over and checked it out.  Let me just say, “LOVED it!”

The blogger, Anne, is hosting a weekly carnival called “Flashback Friday.”  The reasons I love the idea are threefold.  First of all, it gives me a chance to look at and then post some of the nearly-3,500 pictures from my iphoto folder that I haven’t looked at in a long time.  Secondly,  it’s another chance to discover some great blogs.  And finally, I love it when someone else thinks of a topic for me.  It makes me want to bake that person a big pan of brownies and say, “Thank you.  Thank you for not making me use my brain today.”

Today’s theme is “Feeling Red, White, and Blue.”  The picture I’m using is one I actually used a few months ago, so if you’ve already seen it, please bear with me.

red-white-blue-popsicle

You’ve no doubt noticed that Tater Tot isn’t looking at the camera while eating his red, white, and blue popsicle.  If you’d like the full story, you can find it right here.

I decided that since I’d already used this picture in a previous post that maybe I’d include one I’ve never used before.  Here goes.

watching-fireworks

In this picture we’re at a Memphis Redbirds baseball game on July 3rd watching the post-game fireworks.  I’m holding Tater Tot, and his Gammy (my husband’s mother) is on the other side.  He was fascinated by the fireworks display, and the noise didn’t bother him a bit.  It was one of those wonderful nights when the sounds of our 2-year-old’s “ooohs” and “aaahs” reminded us just how much we have to be thankful for.

(My husband took the picture, by the way.  He loves to take pictures of me when it’s 489 degrees outside and humid.  There is no hope for my hair or my makeup in that kind of weather.  My apologies if I’ve frightened anyone.)

 Have a great weekend, everybody!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim H.
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 10:57:06

    CUTE!! I love both pictures – and believe me – I totally understand the reference to 489 degree weather… and humidity… you haven’t lived until you’ve gotten ready for work, walked outside and hit the brick wall of humidity… thus proving that you wasted all of your time trying to fix your hair that morning!

    Reply

  2. Anne Glamore
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 13:47:44

    Waiting on my brownies! Glad we met, and thanks for participating! Love those pics!

    Reply

  3. thefarmerfiles
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 15:32:42

    But the pic says it all, doesn’t it?

    Reply

  4. Heather
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 16:13:39

    Oooh, I love those rocket pops!

    Reply

  5. Quirky is a Compliment
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 00:07:43

    That popsicle looks wonderful! Is there not anything better than a red, white, and blue treat on a hot day?

    Love the pics!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

