It Was a Good Week…For the Most Part

As I look over the last week, I have to say that it was more pleasant than not.

GLORY HALLELUJAH!  I had my hair cut and highlighted Wednesday, which makes me happier than I can even explain.  My roots now match the color that had grown out nearly to my ears, and I had about two and a half inches taken off the length.  I’ll go ahead and admit it.  I’m feeling just a tad bit sassy.  

For the four of you who read regularly and saw the BEFORE pictures a few days ago, here are a couple of AFTER pictures.  And, yes, I took them myself, which explains why I don’t look exactly human.  Plus, I took them in front of a mirror, so I couldn’t use a flash.  (Oh, why don’t I just quit with the excuses…I’m just not that photogenic.)

haircut-3

And another…

haircut-11

How about the back?

back-view

The last picture took some work, folks.  It involved some tricky work with a digital camera and a hand mirror.  I’m just saying.

Believe it or not, there was more good news that has nothing to do with my hair.  This news was even better.

CAUTION: I am going to talk, albeit briefly, about boobs.  So if you’re a guy, you can quit reading.  I don’t know if any guys except my brother (because he’s supportive like that) read the blog, so what I’m really saying is JIM! STOP READING!  You’re welcome.

Several weeks ago I went in for a mammogram.  The results came back normal, and for that, I am grateful.

In additional WHY MY WEEK WAS PRETTY GOOD news, I was flipping through the channels Friday morning when I had the TV all to myself and saw that there were back-to-back West Wing episodes on Bravo.  I did a happy-happy-joy-joy dance right there.  The West Wing was my absolute favorite TV drama when it was, you know, on network TV.  So you can imagine my glee!  (I am completely aware that I am, in fact, a big old nerd and have been for quite some time.  It’s okay.)

I watched it until it was time to get ready to meet my friend, Amy, for a movie.  Yes, folks, a real movie in a real theatre.  We saw Bride Wars.  The critics have panned it, but Amy and I loved it.  We laughed, and much to our surprise, we even cried.  There’s nothing like watching a chick-flick movie about best friends with one of your best friends while eating 10-gallon buckets of popcorn and drinking two liters of diet coke.  And all for the bargain basement matinee price of $278.

The downsides to the week were really pretty minor.  Tater Tot and I went to visit Tater Daddy at his office.  A good time was had by all….UNTIL it was time to leave, at which point our usually sweet-natured toddler threw a fit to end all fits.  I am sure that, by now, everyone in Tater Daddy’s office has removed the cotton from their ears…

And then we came home to find that Pearl had thrown up all over the house.  That was fun.  She’s okay.  She’s not smart enough to stop eating bushels of grass, but she’s okay.

All in all, though?  It was a very good week. Refreshed hair, healthy boobs, good TV, and a fun outing with a friend.  What else could a girl possibly want?

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Calista
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 12:41:52

    Love the hair. I’ve got a date with Mrs. Clairol to wash the gray away here in a few minutes, but for now, my 4 year old just told me I need to take the garbage out, and isn’t it about lunch time……????

    Reply

  2. Lora Lynn
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 13:23:00

    Now, see? I knew we were meant to be friends. The West Wing is my all time favorite, number one, numero uno show. Nerds of the world, unite!

    Oh, and cute hair. You do look all sassy with your scarf and what-not. 🙂

    Reply

  3. D
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 16:18:21

    I’m a male and I read your blog.

    Your hair looks great, and glad your boobs are okay.
    ******************************************
    I can’t believe that my PROM date just talked about my boobs! BAHAHAHAHAHA!

    Thanks, D. You’ve known my hair for 25 years or so. It thanks you for the compliment!
    I wish my hair were as cute as sweet Ella’s! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Tatersmama
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 16:27:33

    Oh my goodness… aren’t you a gorgeous little thing? I knew you were beautiful on the inside, but I had no idea that you looked so good on the outside too!
    Hun, your hair looks just perfect and I LOVE the way it lays in the back!

    And I’m happier than you know, to hear that your boobies got the all clear. :o) We all need to be reminded to have our mammies-grammed, so thanks for the reminder. OO
    *******************************************************
    Thank you, Tater’s Mama! What sweet words. I’ll never get my hair to look quite like the pictures. I took these when I got back from the salon, and the guy who does my hair can really straighten it out! I’m sure his arm muscles are s-o-r-e when I leave! I should tip him with a bottle of Tylenol! 🙂

    Yes! Have yearly mammograms! It’s one of the best things we can do for ourselves!

    Reply

  5. kim sue
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 09:31:26

    you should feel sassy. it looks great!

    Reply

  6. Kim H.
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 09:58:40

    I love your hair! I wish mine were that full…but I’m sure there are days when you wish it weren’t. HA!

    I would love to see Bride Wars – but it’ll probably have to wait until it comes out on DVD… my friend and I can’t afford $278 with our “fun money”… darn Dave Ramsey!! 🙂 Just kidding – he’s the best thing that ever happened to me.

    Reply

  7. Heather
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 17:33:42

    Love the new do!

    Can’t say that I am a big West Wing fan, but anyone who mentions my favorite Ren and Stimpy song is cool in my book ;)!

    I don’t think your happy enough….

    Reply

  8. pcb
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 19:50:34

    Wow, your hair looks great! Plus, you ARE photogenic. Don’t sell yourself short.

    ***************************************
    You are very kind. Very kind, indeed.

    Reply

  9. JLI
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 20:44:01

    The hair? Great. Fabulous. Nicely layered. Well done hairstylist person! **snaps**

    But seriously, have your four readers all but forgotten the tangles (no pun intended…okay, yeah, pun intended!) you’ve had with scarves? I see you’ve figured it out!!! **double snaps**

    🙂

    *********************************
    Well, it turns out that if you ask for help here in bloggyville, someone will come to your rescue! After the post about scarf-wearing, Heather sent me a link to a YouTube tutorial! Just like that (*snaps*) I became a scarf-tying pro! Now I love them…if they’re short enough!

    Reply

  10. Kerstin
    Jan 18, 2009 @ 23:23:30

    Love your new haircut!!! I wish my hair had some life to it so it would curl nice and pretty like yours. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Trackback: It’s All About Saving Money « Tater Tales

Leave a Reply

