Snow, Swiss Miss, and a Beautiful Day

Tuesday was a banner day around here, folks.  I don’t know how it could’ve been any better.

Tater Tot and I woke up rather late, thanks to the fact that the afternoon nap he took Monday lasted all of 23 seconds.  No sooner had I settled down with my newest issue of Real Simple and huge diet coke did he wake up.  He made up for it Monday night, though, and he slept until nearly 10:00.  I’d like to say that I’m one of those wives who is up at the crack of dawn, fixing breakfast, washing clothes, etc., but I’m not.  The colder it is outside the longer I want to snuggle under the covers, which is precisely what I did Tuesday morning.

When Tater Tot woke up, I passed by a window.  Here’s what I saw.

memphis-blizzard

Clearly, I had slept through the blizzard that Memphis experienced, and I panicked just a bit.  I hadn’t even been to the grocery store to stock up on things like diet coke and crunch-n-munch milk and bread.

My panic soon turned to excitement when it struck me this was Tater Tot’s first real snow.  It snowed when he was about seven months old, but at that point I wasn’t even making him wear shoes on a regular basis.  All we did was shove a coat and hat on him and run out onto the deck and take pictures (at night, no less) with big snowflakes falling on his head.

I went into his room and told Tater Tot that there was a surprise waiting for him outside, and he immediately asked, “A big truck?”  (Uh-oh.  He’s only 2 1/2.  What will he ask for when he’s 16?)  

“No!  It’s even better!” I answered.  We walked to the window and the look on his face when he saw the snow was priceless.

He started rattling off instructions like a captain on a sinking ship.

“I need my coat an’ my hat an’ my gwovs an’ my jacket, TOOOOOO!”  Aye-aye, sir!  We got busy getting him dressed in warm clothes.  And I have to hand it to those of you who live in the northern regions.  Getting a toddler ready to play in the snow will just about kill you.  I had NO idea.

We were finally all bundled up and ready to explore the Tater Tundra.

making-handprints

Of course, any good snow explorer has to touch it.  He declared it “wet and cold” and proceeded to wipe the snow on my pants and say, “Dare you go, Mama.”  He’s thoughtful like that.

We decided that we should take a closer look at the snow in the back yard, followed by a venture into the front yard where he wiped the snow off of my car and giggled as it fell.

looking-at-the-snow

mamas-car

I knew that getting him back inside was going to be hard.  I mean, on a regular day it’s like pulling teeth to make him come in and it usually ends with one or both of us weeping, so I gave it a lot of thought and finally said, “Let’s go inside and drink some hot chocolate!”

He’d never had hot chocolate before, but he’s like his Mama and only needs to hear the word chocolate to be convinced.  Oh, he took his sweet time wandering toward the door, and once inside he went to the back door, said he needed to go back out, and then had a small FIT when I said no.

But by that time I had the milk and hot chocolate mix out and he was intrigued.  He wiped his little tears and offered to help make it.  You can see by the junk in the background that I don’t get too worked up about  messes, so I put him up on the island and we commenced to makin’ Tater Tot’s first cup of hot chocolate.  He participated in the whole deal, from picking his own mug to helping stir.

hot-chocolate

He declared it to be “dewishus.”

And then, looking out the window at the quickly melting snow, he said, “It’s a beautiful day, Mama.”

Indeed it was.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim H.
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 09:12:46

    What a sweet story – I love the pictures of him both in the snow and enjoying his hot chocolate. I’m sure it’s a day you’ll never forget – even if you did have to get out in the cold to enjoy it. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Mrs Lemon
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 11:07:35

    so fun! next year I’m definitely bundling Zesty up to roll him around in the snow

    Reply

  3. Ella's "Dot"
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 11:14:50

    That’s a fine looking boy!!
    How are you doing young lady? We are fine in Kentucky, hoping the same for you and yours.

    Reply

  4. Jamie
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 11:56:55

    Oh, that first fun snow! It has only snowed once during the 9 years I’ve lived in TX; but that once was Christmas Eve, and my guy was about 3. Pure magic. My poor girlie has never seen real snow. She probably thinks snow is like the powdered sugar that we sprinkle on her waffles, since that’s what we call it. The real stuff will probably be a big disappointment for her. Not that it will snow here again anytime soon. Texas will never learn how to have a proper winter. Hrpmf.

    Reply

  5. JLI
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 12:07:26

    A-flippin-dorable! I’m just wondering where I can get a size 7 1/2 in those galoshes? They’re FAB!

    Reply

  6. Tatersmama
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 16:01:38

    “Dewishus”? It’s that gorgeous little guy who is truly “dewishus”!
    What fun…. and I’m glad he got to experience the snow! :o)

    Reply

  7. pendy
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 16:27:40

    What a precious memory that day will be in the years to come!

    Reply

  8. D
    Jan 22, 2009 @ 21:47:50

    I love the picture of him drinking hot chocolate…so cute!

    Reply

  9. Jenna
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 11:25:11

    What a great day!

    Reply

  10. Kerstin
    Jan 23, 2009 @ 21:39:22

    Okay, the picture of him drinking his dewishus hot chocolate is PRICELESS!! I absolutely love it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

