Because Their Stuff Is So Much Better

It’s about 11:00 p.m. in Memphis, and the weathermen are predicting ice and sleet sometime after midnight.  Of course, that means we have a chance of sunshine and 60 degrees at 7 a.m.  I’m not saying that our local forecasters don’t know their stuff, but several years ago they hyped everyone up about the BIG STORM that was coming, along with FREEZING TEMPERATURES FOR DAYS!  The school systems (yes, we have two of them) went ahead and announced cancellations the night before anything happened.  Guess what?  It rained.  I was teaching at the time, and we had a “rain day.”  That’s right.  A rain day.  Later on it was decided that the students didn’t have to make up the day at the end of the year.  The teachers, however, DID.  I can’t say for certain, but I’m pretty sure some of those weathermen went home to find that their yards had been rolled (or toilet papered or whatever you call it in your neck of the woods).

Anyway, I’m hoping that we don’t get ice.  A little snow would be great and much appreciated.  But ice?  Here’s a new take on one of my favorite films starring one of my famous friends:

“You don’t want ice?”

“I don’t want frozen precipitation!”

“YOU DON’T WANT ICE?”

MEMPHIANS CAN’T HANDLE THE ICE!”

It’s true.  Memphians don’t have a clue what to do when roads ice over, so everyone immediately jumps in their cars, guns their accelerators and then they hit the brakes.  We are a silly people.  However, I will tell you that the Taters avoid going out in ice.  We much prefer to eat ourselves into a junk-food stupor and crash into each other.

Mercy.  I found a tangent and really followed it that time.  Woops.

Today I’m passing the buck and recommending some blogs because, well, the part of my brain that comes up with things to blog about is kind of clogged.  I’ve got blog clog.  Or blog fog.  You know…nuthin’.

So if it strikes your fancy, here are a few places you might want to visit.  I’m hopeful that the blog clog fog will clear soon, so please don’t let me go….you can’t let me go…..I have so much to offer you…..  (If you watched The Bachelor Monday night, that will make a little sense.  If you didn’t, I’m sure you can figure out what went on.)

For one of the best recaps in Bachelor history, hands down, click over to Lincee’s blog at I Hate Green Beans.  She managed to cover it all, gang, and it is SO worth the read.  I will caution you not to eat anything while reading it, though, because the combination of laughing hysterically while trying to eat a handful of Chex Mix increases your chances of choking just a smidge.  And that would be terrible.  You wouldn’t even get to finish reading her recap.

Meghan (over at Spicy Magnolia) and her husband, Matt, welcomed their first son on January 16th.  Because she is Super Woman, she is taking care of that sweet baby and blogging about it.  Baby Brennan is just about as cute as they come, so head on over and take a peek.

Finally, if you haven’t checked out the Praise Baby blog, check it out.  At some point I’ll have a post going up, but I have no idea when it will be.  I’m supposed to put  the button on my sidebar telling you that I’m a Praise Baby Blogger, but HELLO! THIS IS WORDPRESS AND I DON’T KNOW IF I’M ALLOWED TO DO THAT.  I’ve looked all over the admin page and can’t find a single thing that says, “Do this if you want to put a button in your sidebar, Tater Mama, you big dumb blogger.”  If any of you use WP and know how to do it, feel free to let me know.

That’s about it from here.  I have to go do a PLEASE LET THE TEMPERATURE STAY ABOVE FREEZING dance now.  Because the ice?  It is not so nice.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg @ Spicy Magnolia
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 08:08:31

    Oh, how I know about blog clog! I’ll have to remember that terminology as it’s so fitting! How fun to know that you’re a Praise Baby blogger, too. Here’s to hopin’ I don’t have to write my post for a LONG time! I guess you’re feeling better?? Hope you have a wonderful day bundled up all warm and toasty! 🙂

    Reply

  2. JLI
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 09:42:06

    I haven’t tried to add a button, but you might try this:
    Dashboard>Appearance>Themes>Widgets
    Select a text widget then paste the URL of the button into the text box and save it.

    That’s how I got the SiteMeter button in my blogroll.

    Hopefully that’s not too technical. Let me know if it works!

    Reply

  3. kim sue
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 09:50:53

    hope you went to the grocery yesterday to buy all that junk food….at least there is a little white stuff on the ground while we are taking a “snow day”!

    Reply

  4. Kim H.
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 10:16:56

    How funny – we’re the same way down here… pretty much the world shuts down in Houston if there is even mention of ice or snow… which naturally doesn’t happen often, but we all have to go out and check out what would happen if it does.

    Incidentally, even here when it rains, (which happens ALL the time) people freak out and don’t remember how to drive. Seriously if there is a spit of water on the road – people forget what they are doing… I don’t understand it. Slow down a little BUT you don’t have to go 10 MPH just because there is a little water…

    Reply

  5. insertgracehere
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 17:45:50

    I’m so glad I found your blog. …via ihategreenbeans…

    I LOVE Praisebaby. My youngest daughter is 2 and we STILL play her Praisebaby DVD every night when she goes to sleep. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE it…
    I do use WordPress although I’m desperate for a blog makeover and even posted an ad/post AND received a donation. Sigh…

    But I’m thinking of dropping WordPress and going with my own .com. Like I’m all big and everything.

    I “think” you just add the button to your sidebar. And it’s perfectly okay. I have buttons in mine. One of FOUR columns. I know…. that’s why I think it’s time to change….

    Enjoyed the visit. Stop by sometime.

    Rena Gunther

    Reply

  6. Mrs Lemon
    Jan 28, 2009 @ 19:43:59

    What with the “so much to offer you … Jason” and all the ruffled dresses, it’s no wonder he couldn’t give out the final rose.

    Reply

  7. thefarmerfiles
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 16:48:26

    I have never heard the term “Memphians.” I just kept wanting to read “Memphibians.” Call me ignorant. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

