Happy Birthday, Tater Daddy

We’re spending the weekend celebrating birthdays!

My husband’s father’s birthday was Thursday, and Tater Daddy’s is TODAY!  

Our little family of three will celebrate Tater Daddy’s 43rd birthday doing just what he asked us to do:  let him sleep as long as he wants, watch the Super Bowl, and piddle around at home.

I never know what to get him because he’s kind of hard to buy for.  If I had several thousand dollars lying around, I’d send him off to Egypt for three or four weeks on his dream vacation.  It’s the number one place on his list of places to visit.  Me?  Not so much.  He’d have a much better time without me asking every five minutes if there’s a Cheesecake Factory anywhere nearby and could we please go back to the hotel for a nap.

Alas, we do not have Dream Vacation Money just lying around, so he might just have to settle for a batch of Chex Mix and a card.

Oh, and this. 

43 REASONS AND/OR THINGS I LOVE ABOUT TATER DADDY

I love….

1.  that he’s the funniest person I know.  With my husband, you just never know what he’ll do or say, but chances are it’ll be funny.
2.  his eyes.  They’re a beautiful blue.

 

Handsome fellows, aren't they?

Handsome fellows, aren't they?

3.  his legs.  I’ve mentioned before that he has the best looking legs of any man I’ve ever seen.  You’d think I’d have taken a picture of them sometime in the last 14 years, wouldn’t you?
4.  that he knows how to fix stuff.
5.  that he knows how to build stuff.
6.  that if he doesn’t know how to fix or build something, he’ll read about it and learn how.
7.  that he takes the “What can it hurt to try?” attitude.  
8.  that he is wild about Tater Tot and shows it every single day.
9.  that he tells Tater Tot how much he loves him.
10.  his intelligence.  Seriously, he has a good head on his shoulders.
11.  that he is patient beyond belief.
12.  that he cleans up his own messes.
13.  that he never complains about the meals I make.  And believe me, there have been plenty worth complaining about.
14.  that he loves to laugh.
15.  his willingness to keep an open mind.
16.  his love of the South.
17.  that he loves to laugh.
18.  that he knows how to relax while we’re on vacation.
19.  that he is super organized, because I am undeniably NOT.
20.  that he doesn’t have to have me right there next to him ALL THE TIME.
21.  that he doesn’t hunt, fish, or play golf.  He’s too tender-hearted to kill anything for sport, and he just doesn’t enjoy golf.  
22.  that he’s kind-hearted.
23.  that he’s a gentleman.
24.  his ability to see “the big picture” rather than taking a snapshot-view like I do.
25.  that he didn’t freak out when I quit my job two months after buying our first house because I wanted to get my master’s degree and teach.
26.  that he tells me he thinks I’m a good Mama to our son.
27.  that he’s well-read.
28.  that he doesn’t mind painting rooms and re-doing things around the house. He’s great at it!  Whenever we repaint, I’m assigned the parts that won’t show because I am that bad at it.
29.  that he likes to be silly.
30.  his spontaneous spirit.  I’m more of a planner.  I like to know where we’re going, what we’re going to find there and where we’re going to stay.  He’s taught me that sometimes it’s just fun to GO.
31.  that he’s an excellent writer.
32.  that he hates to be hot, so he doesn’t mind if the air conditioner is set kind of low in the summer.  He’s always said, “Two things I’m willing to pay for are to be cool in the summer and warm in the winter.”
33.  his willingness to help when asked.
34.  the way he looks when he’s watching Tater Tot.

 

 

He is absolutely in love with this sweet little boy.

He is absolutely in love with this sweet little boy.

35.  that he’s managed to completely control his, er, enthusiasm when the University of Tennessee Vols are playing football.  This has taken some real effort on his part.
36.  that he’s a good traveler.  He knows who to tip and how much, how to navigate busy airports, and how to talk gate agents into better seats.  (Okay, he used to be able to do that last one a lot more often, but I think it’s become much harder.)
37.  that he didn’t complain about our vacation to Aruba that I was in charge of planning.  The resort wasn’t anything like we’d been told, and it was basically a disaster.  He just rolled with it.
38.  that he will play with Tater Tot even when his back is killing him just because he knows how happy it will make that sweet little boy.

 

 

He must have pushed Tater Tot for a full hour after having spent all afternoon working in the yard.

He must have pushed Tater Tot for a full hour after having spent all afternoon working in the yard.

39.  that he tries so hard not to complain about his back.  He has several disks that are kaput, and he’s almost always in some state of pain.  
40.  that he likes to see plays and musicals, and he’ll get tickets to the big Broadway shows when they’re playing in Memphis.
41.  the fact that he’s confident but doesn’t have a giant ego.
42.  his appreciation of family.
43.  that he’s still here despite all of my crazy.

Here’s to MANY more birthdays, Tater Daddy!  For everyone who knows and loves you, your birthday is a happy day.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pcb
    Feb 01, 2009 @ 14:00:14

    Happy Birthday, Mr. Tater. We’re celebrating today, too (my daughter-in-law).

    Reply

  2. D
    Feb 01, 2009 @ 16:51:03

    Happy Birthday Mr. Tater! Hope to see you next time we’re in town…

    Reply

  3. Quirky is a Compliment
    Feb 01, 2009 @ 16:54:43

    What a wonderful Tater Daddy! Happy Birthday!

    Reply

  4. Heather
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 09:48:17

    Happy belated birthday Tater Daddy! Hope you got to do all the stuff you wanted to on your big day, like the sleeping in, and the watching of the football, and the piddling around the house, as your wife so eloquently put it ;)!

    Reply

  5. thefarmerfiles
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 21:39:35

    Happy bday Tater Daddy! Real men love Broadway musicals!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

