A Weely Happy Day

After a weekend full of birthday celebrations and more cake than I’ll ever admit to eating, Tater Tot and I met up with a friend and her daughter, Audrey, yesterday at the Children’s Museum.

It was great.  Audrey is more than adorable, which explains why Tater Tot grabbed a’hold of her at one point for a hug so grand that they fell down.  When he loves, he loves big.  What can I say?

The first thing we did was play in an exhibit that looks like a big waterway.  The water winds around and kids can use little fishing poles with magnets to “catch” plastic fish.  It’s very cute.  And very wet.  The next time we go I’m dressing the boy in a wetsuit.

The only time I thought about taking pictures was when we spotted the part of the museum with a fire truck, Sheriff’s car, and a police motorcycle.  As far as Tater Tot was concerned, the heavens opened and angels sang.

fireman

Audrey joined him for a little while.  

with-audrey

Let’s hope we never see him in the back of one of these.

sherriff

After doing pretty much everything there is to do, it was time to go.  Audrey and her mom left a little before we did.  Tater Tot couldn’t quite bring himself to leave the waterway area (again), so we stayed for a few minutes longer.  Finally, I picked up my soaking wet son and carried him to the car.  Crying.  And having a toddler come-apart.  I won’t lie to you.  It wasn’t pretty.

I found a dry shirt in the car with “Santa’s Helper” on it (in a bag of things to take to Goodwill) and somehow managed to wrangle it onto the poor child as he wailed, “But I need to fish some more!” at the top of the lungs.

I did the only thing I could think to do.  I bribed him with the promise of a chocolate milkshake for the drive home.  

Amazingly, his mood improved and he later declared it to be “a weely happy day.”

Oh, and he thinks we’re going back today.  He’s going to be so disappointed when he finds out that today’s big adventures include vacuuming the dog hair off the furniture and going to the grocery store.

And maybe — just maybe — we’ll pick up the stuff needed to make homemade chocolate milkshakes.

There’s no reason that today can’t be a “weely” happy day, too.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 09:39:08

    Aren’t those Children’s Museums just awesome… Aside from the needing a rain coat and all of course ;)!

    Reply

  2. Allison @ Slice of Heaven
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 10:10:47

    We loved going to the Children’s Museum in Paramus, NJ when we lived there, but haven’t found one yet since moving to TX. They are great and lots of fun! He looks so cute in the firetrck!

    Reply

  3. Jenna
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 10:31:19

    Aside from the meltdown it sounds like a “weely” fun day!

    Reply

  4. Kim H.
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 11:48:12

    Cute pictures! I want to have a weely fun day too… what time shall I be there for milkshakes? 🙂

    Reply

  5. Kerstin
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 14:01:01

    I’m sad that we missed out on the milkshakes! Audrey had so much fun that, as expected, she passed out before exiting the parking lot. So glad that Bo had a “weely happy day.”

    Reply

  6. kim sue
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 16:51:06

    cute, cute….love the fire truck picture
    and I can so see you carrying a crying toddler to the car because raise my hand, I have SO been there. and don’t think I am above bribary…heck I am the queen of bribary.

    Reply

  7. Meg @ Spicy Magnolia
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 20:08:34

    Yeah for “weely happy days”! This looks like so much fun and I’d love me some of those chocolate milkshakes right ’bout now! 🙂

    Reply

  8. thefarmerfiles
    Feb 03, 2009 @ 21:31:11

    oh I am such a choc milkshake briber!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

