See You Later, Gator

It is unseasonably warm in Memphis.  Monday’s high was around 77 degrees, and the sky?  So blue.  So, so blue.

It was a perfect day to play with one of Tater Tot’s Christmas gifts, so we headed outside, unlocked the car house and fired up the John Deere Gator that my husband’s parents gave him. 

gator-2

Yes, our little boy is driving now.  Granted, he mainly drives in circles and he thinks nothing of running over the small crepe myrtles his Daddy planted last year.  It’s a good thing they’re tough.

Pearl stayed pretty close, but she was smart enough to stay behind or next to the Gator.

pearl-and-gator-21

After about an hour of riding around improving his steering skills, he looked down and realized that he wasn’t wearing his seatbelt.  He quickly brought this to my attention, so I belted him in and he said, “Thank you, Mama.  Now I safe.”  Let’s hope this is a practice he remembers when he’s older and has his own car.  You know.  When he’s 35 and we give him the okay to drive.  

We’d been outside for a while when Tater Tot asked for some water.  Notice how he’s driving with one hand and holding his cup in the other.  

drinking-driving1

After a couple of hours exploring the yard at the warp speed of about .2 horsepower, we decided that it was time for lunch and had a picnic.  We saw planes flying overhead, and according to Tater Tot, every single one was going to the moon.

We played with dumptrucks and then colored with sidewalk chalk.  We sang the ABC song, played chase, and spun around until we were dizzy.  The air was full of a toddler’s laughter.  And it was just perfect.

So until next time, later, Gator!

On a totally unrelated note:  Remember the problem I was having a few days ago when my laptop wouldn’t connect to the internet?  It’s happening again.  My husband is not having the same trouble with his, so apparently it’s not our wireless network that’s causing the problem.  My Mac actually shows that it’s picking up the wireless network, but then it claims that the wireless network isn’t connecting to the internet.  Or something like that.  Tater Daddy tried to tell me last night, but he lost me after “wireless network” and something about “diagnostics.”  Why does he insist on talking to me in a foreign language?  He knows I don’t speak “techie.”  Needless to say, a trip the Genius Bar is in my near future.  Please pray for the poor soul who gets stuck with me because the experience will certainly test his or her patience.

I tacked this little note onto the end of the above post because I have no idea when Mac will let me connect again.  I’ll just be breathing into a paper bag until I know the problem is fixed.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pcb
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 21:23:40

    Tater Tot is blessed to have a mama who will spend the time with him when the time is right. Sounds like a memorable day.

    Reply

  2. Meg @ Spicy Magnolia
    Feb 11, 2009 @ 21:43:34

    so sorry about the ‘puter problems. 😦 that gator, however, looks awesome!! what a fun day you had with your little one. 🙂 you’ll have to tell me all the fun things like that to do with little boys!

    Reply

  3. Tatersmama
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 00:17:32

    What a perfect day! And little Tater looks so adorable with one hand on the wheel and a cup in the other. I wonder who he gets that from? *grins*
    Perfect weather and a perfect day… and I’m so happy that ya’ll enjoyed it!

    Reply

  4. Calista
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 00:23:44

    We have this same Gator, and can I just tell you, we have driven this thing until we had to replace the tires. Yes mam. REPLACE the tires! It will go and go. It’s the gift that keeps on giving cause my 7 year old is STILL riding it, and she got it when she was Tater’s age!

    Reply

  5. Jenna
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 10:16:47

    Luckily you have something infinitely more interesting than the internet at your house… a toddler!

    Reply

  6. Kim H.
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 13:38:05

    How cute is he with his cup? Driving with one hand… hmmm… wonder where he’s seen that before? HA! 🙂

    I’m so glad you guys had a great day… hope that the Mac is fixed soon!

    Reply

  7. Kelley
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 15:36:31

    Oh my goodness. I have a future nephew who would LOVE to have a gator as his grandpa works for John Deere! TOO CUTE!!

    Reply

  8. Kerstin
    Feb 12, 2009 @ 18:48:25

    I love the picture of Tater Tot driving with one hand! Funny what they learn when you think they aren’t paying attention! 🙂 You are such a good mom. Sounds like he had a great day!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

