My Funny Valentine

Yesterday I had the bright idea of making Valentine cookies with Tater Tot.  We’ve never made cookies from scratch together, so I thought it would be a fun activity.  I mean, really, how much trouble can a toddler and a bag of flour get into?

The recipe called for baking powder and since the only can I had in my cabinet expired over a year ago we had to make a run to the grocery store.  I’m sure your favorite grocery has those carts with cars attached to the front, right?  Ours, too.  So far I’ve managed to avoid using those by telling Tater Tot that they were out of gas.  I’m not entirely sure why I’ve resisted letting him “drive” while I shop for things like diet coke and salsa.

Well, yesterday, I gave in to Tater’s request to drive the car.  I suppose it was because he asked so sweetly.  “Mama?  I need to drive the car.  Pweese?”  The fact that he had his chubby little arms wrapped around my neck certainly worked in his favor, too.  

I have to say that, much like Rain Man, the boy was an excellent driver.  I can’t say the same for me, though.  It took a little while to maneuver that thing.  Luckily I only took out one display of cereal.

We got all of the things we needed, parked the cart, and came home.  My little pastry chef and I made the cookie dough.  While I piddled around with most of the ingredients, Tater Tot undertook the important task of using the “steamroller” to flatten out the flour.  As he said, “I have to wole it.”

Indeed.

flour-1

flour-2

After letting the dough chill while both of us Tater Tot napped, we started the task of rolling out the dough and cutting the cookies. 

dough1

 What Valentine’s cookies would be complete without a heaping pile of colored sugar sprinkles?

cookies-1

coookies-2

It only took four hours and two pairs of pants to make our cookies!

Followed by one hour of vacuuming the kitchen.

Happy Valentine’s Day, y’all! I hope yours is just as sweet…but not as messy!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 15:57:37

    I know this is something he will always remember. Time with Mom is more important that anything you can give him. I want to know where you got the rolling pad/cutting board thing! I love that! Give him a hug for me, he looks too cute 🙂

    Reply

  2. Tatersmama
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 16:18:01

    I LOVE it ! And I love how little Tater has his little drink cup handy for when he gets all hot and sweaty from rolling out that dough!
    What precious memories you’re making together. He may someday forget the cookies, but he’ll never forget that his mama took the time to make cookies together. 🙂
    Memories are more important than any mess!

    Reply

  3. Kim H.
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 16:36:53

    How funny – the cookies look good! I’m impressed at his skillz for such a young age. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Lora Lynn
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 16:39:38

    Your countertops are gorgeous. And I bet that dough was delish!

    Reply

  5. Angelena@Little Mountain House
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 17:10:56

    I remember when my boys were that age and we made cookies. It took hours to clean the kitchen, but they still remember making cookies with Mama!

    Reply

  6. Kerstin
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 22:50:12

    Ahhh, that is so sweet! Baking with Audrey is one of my most favorite things we do together. And because she’s learned to use the words “caaake” and “gookies” (cookies) at precisely the right time of day (aka- when I’m desperately craving something sweet but trying to convince myself to eat an apple), I have now gained 10lbs. Oh, the sacrifices we moms make… 🙂

    Reply

  7. Allison @ Slice of Heaven
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 23:30:52

    That is priceless. How fun, but I sure can vouch for the messes! Have a wonderful Valentine’s with the ones you love!

    Reply

  8. Jamie
    Feb 13, 2009 @ 23:53:29

    Mmm, sprinkles. Gotta decorate with a generous hand, ya know.

    By the way, I’m admiring your genius and wishing I had thought to STEER my kids away from the car-carts with the “out of gas” excuse.

    Of course, even a good excuse is really no match for a puppy dog face, but still. Very clever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

