Random Stuff

Happy Valentine’s Day!  I hope you’re all celebrating with people you love.  And chocolate.  Don’t forget the chocolate.

I was tagged for one of those memes, and since I really don’t have much to write about today, I’m all in.

I’m supposed to tell you 10 random things about myself.  Since I participated in a similar thing on FaceBook, this ought to be pretty simple.  If you’re one of my FB friends, well, you’ve probably already stopped.  And if you’re NOT one of my FB friends, well, you’ve probably already stopped reading, too.  I honestly can’t say that I blame you.  Because my random is so boring.

But I like to play along, so here goes.

  1. I cannot carry a tune in a bucket, so whenever I’m in public and singing is involved, I’m a total lip-sync (is that how you spell it?) singer.  Much like Ashley Simpson.  You know what’s funny, though?  When I’m singing in my car, I sound just like Celine Dion.
  2. I majored in Communication at Mississippi State primarily because it required only two math credits.  Of course, we know how one of those turned out, don’t we?
  3. It’s possible that I’m the world’s greatest procrastinator.  I used to say that it was because I worked better under pressure; that the best ideas come when I’m under the gun.  But now I’m pretty sure the reason is that I’m just plain old lazy.
  4. Even though I’m a procrastinator, I tend to freak out a little if I don’t have a plan.  I like to know what needs to be done and when.  On a road trip, I like to know the exact route we’re taking.  Before packing, I make a list of what to pack.  I plan our meals one week at a time.  I’m great at planning.  It’s just that I might not do the actual task until the last minute.
  5. I can’t stand to be late.  This is one of those things that can totally be blamed on my mother.  My brother and I used to tease her because if we had to be somewhere at 2:00, she’d start telling us, “You better start getting ready!” at about 11:00.  I usually go by the IF YOU’RE NOT 15 MINUTES EARLY, YOU’RE LATE rule.  You can bet that if I’m late for an appointment, something is wrong.
  6. I am not crazy about pork chops.  However, I can’t eat enough bacon, country ham, or barbecue.   Go figure.
  7. My right set of eyelashes won’t stay curled.  The left set?  Normal.  I’m not sure what’s up with the right set.  If you have any ideas about how to get them to stay curled, please PLEASE HELP A SISTUH OUT.
  8. I do not like horror films and will not watch them.
  9. I hate snakes.  All snakes.  I don’t believe there is such a thing as a “good snake.”  In fact, it would suit me fine if all snakes just disappeared from the face of the earth.  Yes, I realize that it would mess up the ecosystem, but I’d be willing to live with it.
  10. I’m not wild about talking on the phone.  Some people LOVE to get on the phone with friends they see every day and ramble on about nothing in particular.  I can do that for about two minutes and then I’m DONE.  I’d much prefer to meet for coffee or lunch or dinner.  Imagine THAT!

Wake up!

I’m done now.

I think I’m supposed to tag some other folks, but I’m feeling a little sassy.  I know there are some lurkers out there.  I mean, come on folks.  I check my blog stats every once in a while and there are one or two of you out there who visit but don’t comment.

And you know that bloggers “do it for the comments,” right?  So I’d like to tag the lurkers.  (Okay.  I’m begging the lurkers.)  I’d love it if you’d leave a comment and tell me something random about yourself.  Because I’m certain that YOU are more interesting than I am.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs Lemon
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 20:45:30

    (not a lurker) but something random about me is I used to not sneeze out loud. And it really bugs me when my husband sneezes loud enough for YOU to hear it. Every.Time. ::sigh:: but hey, he’s a good guy, so I’ll give him his dramatic sneezes.

    Reply

  2. pcb
    Feb 14, 2009 @ 22:57:53

    I’m not a lurker either, but I will share one tidbit of randomness:

    In kindergarten, I was the Queen of the Monarch Butterfly Parade in Monterey, California. You may bow and kiss the ring!

    Reply

  3. Christi S
    Feb 15, 2009 @ 00:41:31

    Since I just found your blog, I am not a lurker either 😉

    I mostly agree with you about snakes. I don’t mind them so much when they are off in the woods or whatever but they don’t belong in my yard. Or my carport. Hubby got a little irritated with me for bending a shovel on a “little garden snake” (or whatever he thought it was.) I know that the snake is not going to sit still while I run to check on the internet if its poisonous or not, so I make sure it is still.

    For my random thing, I hate coleslaw. It looks gross and it smells gross. I would pay extra to not have it on my plate at fish restaurants. I barely tolerate it being on other peoples plates.

    Reply

  4. kim sue
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 13:10:37

    well fooey…I thought I would read your comments and discover lots of random information about lurkers, but alas it appears they are too good to be lured out by you into the light!

    random fact #274….I will leave my house where there is perfectly good diet coke (because we NEVER run out) to get a fountain diet coke from one of my favorite drink stops. And there IS a progression of places that I will buy a drink from all based on the ice and cup that they present their diet coke in.
    ***************************************
    You should TOTALLY write about your random fact! I would love to read it! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

