Beyond a Genius’s Help

Saturday morning I had an appointment with a genius at the Genius Bar at our local Apple store.  As I’ve mentioned before, something is making my laptop (sporadically) tell me that it isn’t connected to the internet — when we both knew that OH, YES SIR, I MOST CERTAINLY AM CONNECTED TO THE INTERNET.

I wish I could tell you that Mr. Genius healed my sweet Mac, but that isn’t the case.  I explained the problem as best as I knew how.  He started talking about the possibility of “corrupted files,” at which point I started nodding as if I understood exactly what he was saying when I was really thinking, “There you go.  You’re talking to me in that foreign language of techie and I don’t speak it.  Not one word.”

He fiddled around with it for a few minutes and said that he changed some settings and that I should see “great improvement.”  He added that if what he did didn’t work, I should probably check my wireless network.

Like I know what that means.

I came home around 1:00 and did a little happy dance because my laptop worked without fail for about five hours.  I shut it down around 6:00 when Tater Daddy, Tater Tot, and I went out for a delicious Valentine’s Day burger.

When we returned, I opened my computer expecting to hop right back online.

Alas, it was not to be.  The little icon up there told me that I was picking up the strongest signal possible from our airport.  But the message that appeared on my screen?  You guessed it.  “The page cannot be opened because you are not connected to the internet.”

Until we get the problem fixed, assuming we ever do, I suppose I’ll be posting on the blog at my laptop’s pleasure.  The same goes for being able to read my favorite blogs, not to mention feeding my Pathwords and Word Challenge addictions.

If only those geniuses made housecalls…

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 16:25:52

    Ok I have had this problem before. I am assuming that your wireless router and your wired router are two different pieces of equipment. Make sure that when you are trying to connect to the Internet, that the router that is plugged into your phone line or cable connection has blinking lights on it like it is trying to connect. I have DSL from the phone company and if I don’t have 4 lights on mine then I am not connected. My computer will say that I am connecting to the wireless router just fine, but there is no signal coming from the wired router. I hope this makes a little sense. Give me a few more details and maybe I can help.

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 17:26:34

    I love your blog! You’re so entertaining! I added your blog to my blogroll…hope you don’t mind!!! Mine is all4boys.blogspot.com if you’re interested in checking mine out. Oh, and your baby is not such a “baby” anymore!!! He’s precious!

    Reply

  3. Tatersmama
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 21:06:05

    Genius, schmenius!
    Why DO they insist on talking gobbledigook when it’s pretty darn obvious that if we understood a single word, WE would be their co-workers!?!?

    Reply

  4. pcb
    Feb 16, 2009 @ 22:31:37

    You are handling it well. The one thing that will send me into a meltdown is a technology malfunction. Anything else I can handle with ease.

    Reply

  5. Meg @ Spicy Magnolia
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 10:23:42

    Talk about something that would drive me absolutely insane! I do not consider myself a patient person and that is one scenario that such impatience and frustration would rear its ugly head immediately. I hope it gets fixed really soon for you!! Happy Tuesday!

    Reply

  6. kim sue
    Feb 17, 2009 @ 13:00:07

    I’ve decieded they talk techie because they do not know what the H. E. double L. is the problem either but they are not allowed to tell us that.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

