I Hope I Remember

Sometimes I look a this two-and-a-half-year-old ball of energy and wonder where the last two-and-a-half years went.  The nine-pound baby we brought home from the hospital is now a little boy.  Oh, there are a couple of signs of babyhood left.  His little hands still have tiny dimples at the knuckles, and he still sucks his thumb when he’s tired or really concentrating.  But those will be gone all too soon.

And while I look forward to every stage, I can’t help but think that this age is absolutely wonderful.  There are so many things about him that I want to remember.

  • the way he smells right after a bath.  Do you think I can make him use Johnson’s Baby/Toddler shampoo until he’s in his 30s?
  • the way he laughs when he is completely tickled.  Surely heaven must sound like a child’s unbridled laughter.
  • the way his little arms feel wrapped around my neck, whether he’s giving me a hug or he’s getting a piggyback ride.
  • his excitement over being read to.  It doesn’t matter if he’s heard the story countless times or if the book is new.
  • the way he says certain things:

   “Pock-Tark” for Pop-Tarts

   “Pockcorn” for popcorn

             “Sticky take” for sticky tape

             “I have to get a hug and kiss for him.”

             “I wuvs you.”

             “Sumping” for something.

             “Up teeth” and “down teeth” for top and bottom teeth.

 

  • that he says “My pweasure,” after being told, “thank you.”  We have no idea where that one came from.  He started out saying, “You wehcom,” and then one day it changed.  It’ll melt your heart.
  • that he wakes up with a smile on his face.
  • that when he explores the flower beds against the back fence, he says he’s  “going on a venture in the jungle.”
  • the look of pure joy when his Daddy comes home each evening.
  • that when he sees a picture of my Daddy he says, “There’s Papa.”  I find it amazing that he remembers him.
  • that splashing in puddles makes him giddy.
  • that he’d rather be outside than anywhere else.
  • the way he feels when he’s snuggled up in my lap,  so warm and soft.

Every day it seems like there’s something new to add to this list.  I hope I can remember them.

Because they are so worth remembering.

 

 

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pcb
    Feb 18, 2009 @ 15:25:34

    Even now, when my 26 year old daughter hugs me, I say “little arms” because when she was small and would hug me I always said there was NOTHING like the feel of little arms.

    Reply

  2. DeAun
    Feb 19, 2009 @ 11:35:09

    you should keep some kind of journal with cute things he says and does then you will never forget. my kids are 12 and 15 now and some of the things they did when they were little are written in their baby books but I wish I would’ve written more things down.

    Reply

  3. Meg @ Spicy Magnolia
    Feb 19, 2009 @ 19:36:30

    I love it! I love reading about such remembrances and it makes me look forward to each day ahead with my little boy.

    Reply

  4. Kim H.
    Feb 23, 2009 @ 12:43:17

    The my pleasure thing would melt my heart – that has to be incredibly cute!!
    *******************************
    Well, we think it’s pretty cute. He’s so sincere when he says it. Now if I could just get him to catch on to “yes ma’am,” “no ma’am,” “yes sir,” and “no sir” I’d be one happy southern mama!

    Reply

  5. Calista
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 01:58:43

    Hey girl, I meant to tell you, I have a small notebook, kinda cute…of course, that I titled Sydneyisms and then one for Ellyisms and I wrote things that were cute as they said them. It has been a wonderful book. Even better than the baby book really.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

