Time To Hit the Sauce

Whenever someone is sick around here, like the little man is right now, something comes over me and I get the urge to cook.  So yesterday morning, after a very long night of trying to get children’s motrin in Tater Tot to lower that fever, I got up and started cooking up a storm.

I put supper in the crockpot (Crockpot Chicken with Mushroom Sauce).  Then I made spaghetti with homemade sauce for tonight’s supper.  And then I went berserk and made lasagna for Monday or Tuesday.  I like to let those two dishes sit for a day or two so the pasta has time to soak up the flavor.  I know.  It’s a novel and brilliant concept….

Any-ole-hoo, I thought I’d share the recipe for the spaghetti sauce.  It’s from the Jackson (TN) Service League’s cookbook, No Place Like Home, and one of the ingredients is cinnamon.  It gives it a different but wonderful flavor.  Who’d-a-thunk-it?  (And the good thing about spaghetti sauce is that you can always tweak it by adding your favorite ingredients.)

SICILIAN SPAGHETTI SAUCE

2 TBSP olive oil                                    2 TBSP dried basil

1 large onion, finely chopped           2 TBSP dried oregano

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped          1 tsp. cinnamon

1/2 lb. ground pork, browned            Salt to taste

        and drained                                     1 lb. pasta noodles (spaghetti, vermicelli, etc.)

1/2 lb. ground beef, browned              Freshly grated Parmesan cheese to taste

        and drained

2 (28-oz) cans whole tomatoes

        with juice, mashed

2 (8-oz) cans tomato sauce

1 (6-oz) can tomato paste

 

In a stock pot, heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add onion and garlic and saute until transparent, about 5 minutes.

Add meats, tomatoes, sauce, paste, basil, oregano, cinnamon, and salt.

Simmer on low for at least 1 hour.

Serve over cooked and drained pasta with Parmesan cheese on top.

Yield:  8 servings.

Note:  Since I’m not a fan of pork, I use a little over a pound of ground beef or ground chuck.  If you like mushrooms, you can add 1 cup of sliced mushrooms and put them in with the tomatoes.  This sauce may also be used over eggplant, chicken, or veal as well.


4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Calista
    Feb 22, 2009 @ 14:02:13

    Love any recipe that calls for cinnamon, it’s so good for you. Got any that call for curry?

    Reply

  2. thefarmerfiles
    Feb 22, 2009 @ 19:48:38

    Next time I am sick…feel free to come over and cook!

    Reply

  3. Kerstin
    Feb 23, 2009 @ 11:29:07

    Yea- I love new recipes! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  4. Tatersmama
    Feb 23, 2009 @ 18:03:32

    My goodness woman… how do you find the time or inclination to cook when you’re tired? You’re amazing!

    When I’m sick, would you please come cook for me? 😉
    ********************************
    Of course I’ll come cook for you, but you can’t be sick for long. I only have a handful of recipes that I’m not afraid to serve to other people! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

