Welcome To the Home of the Sick and the Lame

On Friday I wrote a short little post saying that Tater Tot wasn’t feeling well but I didn’t think he had a fever.  Okay.  That’s like getting in the shower because you don’t think anyone is going to call as soon as you’re good and lathered up.  Or washing your car because the weatherman says there is 0% chance of rain for the next 10 days only to see the storm clouds coming as soon as you’ve put away the bucket and sponge.

We ran a couple of errands Friday morning, first to pick up dog food and look at ALL the fish at PetCo, and then to the grocery store.  We came home and the little man ate a couple of bites of lunch and settled himself on the sofa.  He begged to watch Cars, so we snuggled up together.  Within five minutes he’d turned completely away from the TV and put his head in my lap, eyes droopy and red-rimmed.

He didn’t even put up a fight when I told him it was naptime; a sure sign of things to come.

When he woke up from his nap, he was putting out heat like a…well…heater.  (My skill at using analogies is impressive, no?)   His Daddy and I managed to get some motrin in him and then he took turns sitting in our laps until the medicine kicked in.

He still had fever Saturday morning, but by the afternoon he was on the mend.  Other than a chest-rattling cough, he’s back to being every bit a 2 1/2 year old this morning.

That having been said, you’d think all is well around here, wouldn’t you?

I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned the fact that my husband has a terrible back.  Five discs are out of whack due to something called degenerative disc disease.  Surgery, according to the docs in Memphis, is not an option for him, so he’s pretty much left to manage the pain with all kinds of pain medicine and what I consider to be the best attitude of just about anyone I know.

Occasionally, two or three of those discs get all worked up and his back goes out.  Such was the case yesterday morning.  This episode isn’t as bad as some, but it does make him walk kind of funny.

I’m off to reprise my role as nurse.

Cough, cough, limp, limp….

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Feb 23, 2009 @ 16:19:00

    Good golly…is this what I have to look forward to if I ever have a child? Seems like all the little’uns of the world have some sort of bug lately! I hope EVERYONE gets on the mend for soon!

    This also makes me long for being sick as a kid…because being sick as an adult is NOWHERE near as fun!!!
    ********************************************
    I had no idea how often little ones get sick. Tater Tot doesn’t go to daycare, but he does go to mother’s day out twice a week, and I’ve been amazed at how many colds he’s had. They just pick stuff up everywhere! But they have to be really sick for it to hold them back!

    Thanks for the well wishes! I believe that the sick and the lame are, in fact, on the mend!

    Reply

  2. thefarmerfiles
    Feb 23, 2009 @ 17:39:08

    Wow…hope the storm calms under your roof. So whatcha cookin’ tonight?!?
    *******************************
    Leftovers! Hahaha!

    Reply

  3. Calista
    Feb 24, 2009 @ 18:45:39

    Sorry for all the pain and suffering in your house. I hope you all get better soon. I’ll be praying for ya!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

