This Parenting Thing is Hard

The 2 1/2-year-old who stole my heart the first minute I laid eyes on him is the same one who seems to be stealing my patience.

Today, I said, “No!” about 97 times.

Today, I put a little boy in time-out at least three times for the same “offense.”

Today, I was more stern than I care to be.

Today, I wiped the tears of a little one who’s having to learn how to behave.

Today, I cried more tears than that little boy, and I prayed for wisdom, patience, and guidance.

Because this parenting thing? ย It’s harder than I ever imagined.

It’s also more wonderful than I ever dreamed.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 21:35:27

    Honey….you are not alone. This is my daughters’ blog, go read it and you will see all young mothers have the same things to deal with.

    http://keepingkemps.blogspot.com/

    I will add you to my prayer list ๐Ÿ™‚

    Jenny

    Reply

  2. JLI
    Feb 26, 2009 @ 21:37:22

    Bless your sweet little heart! Your blog is quickly becoming my birth control. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh, I kid, I KID! ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think it’s absolutely WONDERFUL, every single bit of what you write about Tater Tot. You are so unbelievably in love with your son and it absolutely touches my heart and makes me look forward to the day T & I get to have a new love in our lives too. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply

  3. Kim H.
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 08:56:32

    I’m right along the same thoughts as JLI… it’s about this time that all mothers go through the same thing. I remember when one of my neices hit that wonderful age… and while out shopping one day – she was acting particularly challenging, so I lightly swatted her on the leg… and she screamed out (in the middle of the store) “Why YOU hitting me Aunt Kim?!” I wanted to just crawl in a hole and disappear forever.

    Reply

  4. Jen
    Feb 28, 2009 @ 15:54:50

    The closer I get to 3; the closer I get to pulling out all my hair. I find it completely insane to love them so much, and five minutes later, want to scream or hide or cry. I think the insanity of our weather is NOT helpful. They (and I on many occasions) can’t understand what’s going on. It’s a challenge to get dressed and leave the house (especially with potty training! and two at a time!). Just know we are all feeling it….daily!

    Reply

  5. thefarmerfiles
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 10:38:24

    Youngest will be 2 next month..and the build up started when he was 10 months…whew! I think 2 was the hardest year of our 4 1/2 year old’s life thus far. Potty training, table manners, and transitioning to the big boy bed completely humbled me. Yes that was the year he locked me in a room so he could go out and play in the back yard by himself. The baby was sleeping and I thank God to this day Hubs came home early from work to let me out of the room. I had no phones in that locked room.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

