Folding a Fitted Sheet

If you read the title and thought I was going to give some sort of tutorial about how to fold a fitted sheet, then I’m sorry.

I suppose the title should’ve read, “Folding a Fitted Sheet Makes Me Want to Drink Hard Liquor.”

I find it impossible to fold one of the darn things into any shape other than a wadded-up ball.  And I have tried.  My word, have I tried.

I’ve laid it out every way possible.  I’ve stretched it out every way I could think of.  I’ve taken this corner to meet that corner and vice versa.  And still I end up with a ball.

Every now and then I’ll come close, but I’ll end up with a big wad in the middle  and by the time I’m finished it’s still a big ball.

So every time I take sheets out of the dryer, I know the battle that’s coming.

Oh, I know there are You Tube videos of Martha Stewart demonstrating how to perfectly fold a fitted sheet into a  14 x 14 square.  But anything Martha Stewart makes me want to hit the hard liquor, which is not “a good thing.”

I’ve come up with my own little solution over the years.  Since I have my favorite set of sheets, I just wash them and put them right back on the bed.  No folding involved.  And no drinking.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 13:59:14

    I know your pain! I used to be a “wadder-upper” until someone taught me how to fold them. I still think I like your option better! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Tatersmama
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 14:06:50

    Now this is something I AM good at… I even got an A in sheet folding back in mt home-ec, high school days.
    It was probably my proudest moment…

    Nowadays, I just wash ’em and put ’em back on the bed though.

    Reply

  3. Jenny
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 14:34:39

    I watched Martha Stewart fold a fitted sheet one time on television and I promise you it was trick photography. There is no way anyone can fold a fitted sheet that neatly!!! I am with you, just let me know when you want to fold and drink! I am with you!

    Reply

  4. Kim H.
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 15:07:04

    Oh my gosh!! I am so with you – I can’t figure it out at all… and I’ve even tried it with John’s help! AH!

    I do exactly the same thing – wash and put right back on the bed.

    Reply

  5. pendy
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 15:43:41

    I can do it but I don’t. I just don’t see the reason to fold up one set out of the dryer and unfolding another set from the closet to put on the bed. What a waste of time when there’s so much else you could be doing!

    Reply

  6. thefarmerfiles
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 17:00:20

    I think people who need perfectly folded fitted sheets have some serious OCD issues! LOL I throw ’em in the wash, take ’em out, and throw ’em back on the bed, too!

    Reply

  7. Lora Lynn
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 17:06:05

    For years, I thought my over-achieving, over-energetic grandmother was just so on-the-ball that she could change the sheets in an afternoon. Then I found out recently that she never could figure out how to fold a fitted sheet and it made her mad, so she never tried. She just put it straight on the bed.
    The difference between her and me? I’m okay with a wad of sheet in my linen closet. I made my peace with it. 🙂

    Reply

  8. Tater Mama
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 19:08:31

    Y’all make me feel so much better. You really do.

    Wadded-up fitted sheets RULE!

    Reply

  9. Naturally Caffeinated Family
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 23:48:03

    hahaha!! I totally cracked up reading this entire post! so true!

    Reply

  10. Calista
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 01:11:31

    I roll ’em into a ball. Sorta like rollin’ your hands when you’re doing the hustle….da da da ta da ta da da da……

    Reply

  11. kim sue
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 16:52:18

    I usually take them off in the morning and put them in the washer before I leave for work. My cleaning lady, aka the-one-who-keeps-me-sane, puts them in the dryer when she arrives and then she puts them back on the bed before she leaves. So, when I arrive home the bed is perfectly made and clean sheets are underneath just waiting on me :o)
    My sister on the other hand, stuffs the sheets into a pillow case. I do not lie. If you open her linen closet she has a couple of pillow case bags sitting on the shelf waiting their turn :o)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

