I Think I’ll Ramble a Little More

This time change is killing me.  Okay, it’s not really killing me, but it is throwing me for such a loop.  It’ll take me a week or two to get used to it.  The ridiculous part about the whole thing is that Tater Tot and I don’t really follow a set schedule.  Shocking, I know!  But it’s still throwing us off a little.

Since I’m off my game a little more than normal, I’m just going to roll with it.  You know, I’m going to “own it,” as they say and give you a few random tidbits for the day.

First, it appears that we haven’t seen the last of The Bachelor‘s broken-hearted and dumped-on-national-TV Melissa.  We can all tune in tonight to Dancing With The Stars and watch as she takes Nancy O’Dell’s place on the show.  You go, Melissa.  And after only an hour and a half to rehearse, I think it’s totally okay if you do a few herkies in your dance routine.

Next, we’re almost ready to move Tater Tot to a big boy bed.  However, I’m not so sure that he’s ready.  I showed him a picture of one and told him that pretty soon he would be sleeping in a big boy bed just like it, and he said, “Um, no, Mama.  I don’t want it.”  Great.  I’ll keep you posted.

Third, several weeks ago I took Pearl to the vet for her annual checkup and round of shots.  I was kind of dreading the visit because in the last year Pearl has gained a little weight.  And by “a little” I mean a whole bunch.  After Pearl had her litter of puppies several years ago, we had her fixed.  And then Tater Tot made his appearance and started eating solid food, much of which made it to the floor and, consequently, into Pearl’s stomach.  You’ve never seen such a happy Lab.  Or a tubby one.

Pre-puppies, Pearl never weighed more than 60 pounds.  She was such a petite little thing.  Bless the little bit.  And when we went to the vet’s office a few weeks ago?  Oh, that sweet angel topped the scale at 86 pounds — even with being fed reduced calorie dog food.

What can I say?  She’s like her Mama (me).  Sister girl likes to eat, and she likes her treats now and then.

Needless to say that Pearl is now eating even less at suppertime, and she’s getting a little more exercise every afternoon.  She’s a little grumpier, but that’s understandable.

Y’all have a lovely Monday!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim H.
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 18:03:12

    Poor Pearl… I know how she feels! I once put my lab on Beniful Health Weight (or something like that) and she loved it so much she ate 3x as much… and gained weight! So I had to change her food. 🙂

    Reply

  2. JLI
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 18:16:23

    And they say we most resemble chimpanzees…sha. Whatever, sounds like me and Pearl got lots in common. 🙂

    Reply

  3. Kerstin
    Mar 09, 2009 @ 21:19:16

    Amen to doing away with daylight savings time! Audrey’s sleeping (and now mine) is so out of whack. She was up until 10:30 pm last night and it took me 45 minutes to get her to sleep tonight. Bedtime is rarely a problem for us (and she’s always in bed by 8:30 pm) so I think I’m going to write Congress. I’m all for saving some energy (and $$$) but c’mon. Don’t any of these people have children??? 🙂

    Reply

  4. Heather U
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 09:09:30

    I hear you about change sista’. My status update yesterday on my FB page was taken from the TV show Monk which I love! Here is what it said, “Adrian: I have no problem with change. I just don’t like to be there when it happens.”

    Reply

  5. Tatersmama
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 16:01:18

    The change hasn’t hit us yet, but it will… and I’m dreading it.
    I dunno, I think I sleep by the light, rather than the clock, so it messes me up for weeks. 😦
    Talk about being a Miss Crabby!

    I just can’t figure the tubby animals thing. I have 4 grown cats and 2 teenage cats… and the mama cat got “fixed” a few months ago. I used to feed the 4 adult cats 1 can of cat food a day, plus a scoop of nibbles, but now that it’s shared 6 ways, mama cat has turned into a football with stubby legs. I mean this cat is HUGE!
    I’ve even started feeding the young ones first, so they get their fill and then mama and the others gets the leftovers, but still… if she keeps on at this rate, she could be a Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Balloon!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

