Milk May Be Good For the Bones…

…but it is NOT good for a laptop.

The reason I know this is because after I took my shower Tuesday morning, I walked back into the den to find my Macbook open and covered with drops of milk.

Then I picked it up, and milk started pouring out of it. Much like the tears that were flowing from my eyes.

I looked at Tater Tot who was smiling, very pleased with himself. With all the innocence of a 2 1/2-year-old, he said, “Mama! I gave it a baff!”

I will say that ol’ Mac’s surface has never felt smoother or looked younger.

But he’s just as dead as a doorknob.

And we’re not exactly using cash to start our grill, so my sweet Mac won’t be replaced any time soon. I’ll use Tater Daddy’s laptop when he’s not using for the next week or so. The blog is not likely to be updated much until we figure out a better solution.

Fortunately, Tater Tot’s milk has been replaced.

And all electronics have been moved to higher ground.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lora Lynn
    Mar 11, 2009 @ 20:30:28

    OH NO! May your sweet little Mac rest in peace. So sad!

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 08:22:17

    Oh no – my father in law spilled an entire jar of olive juice in his laptop! He apparently fell asleep with with laptop and a jar of olives in his lap… at least your story is a little more out of your control. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  3. JLI
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 08:35:47

    Uh oh. I don’t even hear the tell tale signs of “This will be a story we’ll laugh about in 10 years…”

    I wonder if the outcome would have been any different if Tater Tot had spilled apple juice on it…

    Sorry. I couldn’t resist. πŸ™‚

    Reply

  4. D
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 14:10:57

    Oh I’m so sorry! UGH!

    You can try submerging it in rice and seeing if it dries out…I’ve had three friends who that worked for on their cellphones. Maybe worth a try?

    Reply

  5. Christi S
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 14:21:48

    Since it is DOA there is nothing that this will hurt.

    Unplug it first.

    Take the laptop apart as much as you can to let air get to as much of it as possible (be sure to also remove the battery. You might even put it under a light to help speed up the drying.

    Now pray for 48 – 62 hours and then put it back together.

    It *might* work.

    Hubby spilled a huge glass of water on ours and we did this and it works fine. I also ran my cell phone through the washing machine (twice) and it still worked (the 9 key stuck funny but that’s it).

    The issue is to prevent it from shorting out. If you try to turn it on before it is dry, it can short and then it is dead. (Hubby is an electronic nerd and electrician)

    Good luck.

    Reply

  6. Naturally Caffeinated Family
    Mar 12, 2009 @ 15:59:15

    oh nooo!! i hope you will be able to get a new brother or sister for mac πŸ™‚

    Reply

  7. Kelley
    Mar 13, 2009 @ 08:18:55

    Oh my word! I hope the Mac can come back to life with a little TLC!

    I did laugh at the “…fortunately, Tater Tot’s milk has been replaced” comment. Too funny!

    : )

    Reply

  8. thefarmerfiles
    Mar 13, 2009 @ 13:10:11

    LOL I am so sorry I did! But I did! The bath part just cracked me up. You have quite the thinker there!

    Reply

  9. Meg @ Spicy Magnolia
    Mar 14, 2009 @ 08:54:41

    Oh, no!! I’m so sorry…truly a story of a lifetime though. πŸ™‚ Hope to see you back up and running again soon!

    Reply

  10. Trackback: And Then I Messed With My Theme « Tater Tales

Leave a Reply

