I’ve Missed You!

Ever since Tater Tot doused my sweet Mac with milk, I’ve been cut off from everything.  And it ain’t been easy.  I haven’t been able to read your blogs, so I’ll be up until the wee hours of the morning catching up on all the news!  My Google Reader account?  Haven’t.  Even.  Looked.

I tried using my husband’s laptop, but after it let me publish my last post, the thing never let me get on the internet again.  Remember, the technology hates me.

My Mama came to the rescue, though, and is letting me use her extra laptop.  Oh, I am so grateful to her!  The one I’m using is a PC, so I’m having to get used to the differences between it and a Mac, but it’s good to learn new things, don’t you think?

I was having an awful time figuring out how to do a couple or nine things, so my friend, Diane, reminded me that I should just call up mycomputer guru friend, Dipti.  (If I were using my old sweet Mac, I would’ve linked to the post in which I wrote all about Dipti.  Since I’m using a PC, I have yet to figure out how to do that in WordPress.  So sorry!)

Of course I’m kidding.  I called my brother, Jim.  About 32 seconds later he had everything figured out, and TA-DA, folks, I was up and able to do more than turn on the computer.  The only thing that would have made it better would’ve been a big bowl of artichoke dip and a bag of Fritos Scoops.  (I was just craving artichoke dip at the time.)

The official word about my Mac is that it is F-R-I-E-D.  Plus, it smells like old milk.  I’m sure whichever poor soul gets the task of recovering the pictures from my hard drive (which they said is completely possible) is going to wish he or she had called in sick.  Because that’s how he or she is sure to go  home.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Quirky is a Compliment
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 12:25:57

    Good to have you back, even if the mac didn’t survive. At least now you have the internet again.

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 12:51:04

    Glad to see you again! I love how even in the wake of such a tragedy (life without internet) you’ve managed to make me laugh. 🙂

    I’m convinced that having to share a laptop with my husband would land us in marriage counseling within one day. HA! So thank goodness for your Mom.

    Reply

  3. JLI
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 13:34:01

    That’s so funny about having to get used to a PC. I can’t imagine working on a Mac. I had to for a brief time when I worked for another company. Aside from the serious lack of training for the actual position, the learning curve for an Apple computer was next in line to be my sure demise. 🙂

    Reply

  4. thefarmerfiles
    Mar 16, 2009 @ 13:46:23

    LOL about the sour milk. Give him/her a surgical mask to wear. 😉

    Reply

  5. NCF
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 14:06:24

    Yay, glad you posted! And yikes for the sour milked laptop but yay for being able to hopefully recover pictures!! I hope it works! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

