And the Mocking Goes On

Clearly, the technology is out to get me.  It looks me in the face and laughs.  It mocks me because it can.

Giddy over being able to connect to the world wide interweb again, as soon as I clicked publish last Monday I was rendered internetless again.

It went a little something like this.

When Tater Daddy was getting me hooked up to all things wireless and internetedness last weekend, we noticed that the wires in the power cord were, um, exposed.  We wrapped some electrical tape around the spot and pronounced it FIXED because the wires weren’t frayed or anything.  We are electrical engineer-y like that, what with our marketing and education degrees.

Along rolls Monday morning and I published my little post about how happy I was to be back on the internet, and I got the most thoughtful message from this PC reminding me that my battery  power was dangerously low and to please connect to my power source immediately.

I did.

And there was the tiniest bit of smoke.

The power cord  was dead.

Fortunately, while Tater Daddy was setting everything up — and wrapping the cord in electrical tape — he ordered a new cord.  It arrived Thursday afternoon, and Friday was so crazy that this morning is the first time I’ve had a chance to pop back in.

So, hey, technology?  Just because there are parts of you that scare the wits out of me doesn’t mean that I don’t adore you.  I do.  I think you are wonderful.  Oh, technology, you are quite awesome.  In fact, your awesomeness makes me quite nervous and leaves me feeling overwhelmed.  Please, pretty please with a gigabyte on top, let’s be friends from now on.

Love,

Tater Mama

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Mar 21, 2009 @ 13:02:38

    Oh gees, you have just had one hot mess with computers lately! I, for one, think they are living creatures, because they always seem to know the precise moment to take revenge on us don’t they?

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 09:23:05

    Oh wow – maybe I shouldn’t welcome you back just in case it jinxes you! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

