I Probably Deserve a Time-Out

I got an email from my  friend, Diane, in which she asked how it was going with Tater Tot sleeping in his new bed, and I thought I’d just go ahead and update the whole wide world.  In other words, the other three people who read this.

So far Tater Tot is still waking up about three times during the night and calling for me in the most pitiful voice possible.  He’s pretty convinced that I should be sitting in his room all night, and it scares him when he wakes up and finds that he is all alone.  Since I hate for him to have to give up his dependence on me cold turkey, I’m staying with him until he falls asleep for the first few nights.  But tomorrow night, the weaning process begins.

You might wonder what Tater Daddy’s role has been in this process.  It’s gone something like this:

“You know why this is so hard, don’t you?  It’s because you’ve made him dependent on you.”

Oh, Tater Daddy.  How many episodes of CSI did he have to watch before he reached that conclusion? Now, y’all know I loves me some Tater Daddy.  But I’m just saying that one more comment like that and he may find that he’s fallen victim to that old camp trick where one hand gets plopped into a bowl of warm water.  (Note to parents:  Remember, if you send your children to summer camp, they don’t just learn how to paddle a canoe and make birdhouses out of popsicle sticks.)

It’s not that I can’t handle criticism (people who know me well are laughing their heads off), but I’m all too aware that we wouldn’t be in our current situation had I not sent my spine on a four or five month vacation.  Believe me.  I will feel guilty for a good long while over this one.

If there were a time-out chair for Mamas, I’d probably be there until Tater Tot starts kindergarten.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angelena@Little Mountain House
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 08:03:11

    Don’t be so hard on yourself. I went through the same thing with all 3 of my boys. My hubby would gently wake me ( instead of getting up himself!) and say ” honey (Jake, Luke, Levi whichever one it was) is calling for you. ARG!

    It will pass. They will eventually sleep by themselves I promise.
    *******************
    I love it when you leave a comment because you are always so encouraging! Thank you! And I LOVE your boys’ names! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 08:40:13

    Poor little guy… and poor Mama! I think that if I had a TaterDaddy throwing out wisdom like that – he might find himself sleeping out in a doghouse instead of just getting the warm water treatment.

    I’d bet you though – if the Tot were a little girl… he’d be the one turning to mush everytime those little eyes pleaded with him to come sit with him… pweeze!

    ****************************************
    Oh, you are absolutely right about that one. If we had a girl, it would be all over. He would be a walking wad of jello. The good thing is that he readily admits it.

    Reply

  3. JLI
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 08:56:05

    I’m just gonna call myself guilty now. It may be another 5 years before I’m a mama myself, but I can totally see myself being the mom who spoils needlessly and avails herself to every whim of her littl’un.

    It’s heart-wrenching even reading that he wakes up and calls for you…uhh!!

    Cherish those little whimpers and such…the day will come all too soon that he won’t need you like he does now.
    ************************************
    Amen. Even now, sometimes he’ll say, “No, Mama. No kisses.” Of course, the next minute he’s snuggled up as close as he can get, but I know the day is coming when I’ll be lucky if he’ll stand in the same room with me. It goes by so quickly, and I want to remember every single time those chubby little arms slip around my neck.

    I hope you don’t have to wait five years. But whatever the wait, it will be worth it. I promise.

    Reply

  4. D
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 20:28:35

    It will all work out. I type this as I decide: do I go into Ella since she’s sort of crying out, or do I let her work it out? Hmmm…

    Reply

  5. Jen
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 22:05:55

    I had an idea for you. Silly, maybe, but it seems to work at our house. The Bear is the same way as Tater Tot. So we leave the hallway light on, which shines on a photo of me and T. He can see it as he lays in his bed nodding off to sleep. Maybe you could place a picture of you or you both where he can always “see” you. I am by no means an expert since I have enabled them quite frequently to sleep with me this week with a thunderstorm and tummy aches. But “mama guilt” runs deep.

    Reply

  6. thefarmerfiles
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 18:26:45

    Kudos to you for sticking with this! We are starting to chuck the pacifier…and I am feeling like a wimp!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

