One Year Ago

One year ago today, my father passed away.

It’s hard to believe that four seasons have come and gone since that cold, rainy evening when my mother called to tell me that he mercifully and peacefully slipped away in his sleep.

Our family has weathered this year of “firsts.”

I must have started to write something at least a dozen times, but I haven’t been able to get very far.

Except for this–

In the 38 years I had with my father, there is not one bad memory.

I haven’t glossed over anything because of the fact that he isn’t here anymore.

In all honesty, and with tremendous gratitude, I can say that every memory is good.

Every single one.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 08:07:16

    I’m sorry about your daddy. I was just thanking God for mine this morning~he celebrates his 78th birthday today and we had the honor or sitting around the dining room table at his house, yet one more time. I spend every Friday afternoon with him, as well. Your dad sounds as wonderful as mine is. I love and cherish that man so much. I will pray for you today as you remember his life on the anniversary of his passing. Bless you, my friend.

    Reply

  2. Meg @ Spicy Magnolia
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 11:25:13

    What you’ve written about your Daddy is a huge testimony to his life. Reaching through the computer and giving you a big hug!

    Reply

  3. JLI
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 14:15:02

    That’s an amazing testimony to his life. What a blessed and wonderful legacy he has left with you. I think it’s beautiful that your memories are all great ones and that you love your dad like you do. You’re very blessed, indeed.

    Reply

  4. pcb
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 15:29:26

    I feel the same about my dad. No bad memories. I wish every other little (and grown!) girl could say the same…the world would be a much better place.

    Reply

  5. David
    Mar 29, 2009 @ 20:12:30

    Your dad was a great man…who raised a great daughter…who is raising a great son (and soon two!)…his legacy continues, for sure.

    Reply

  6. Kim H.
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 08:38:45

    Wait – did I miss something announcing a new tater tot?

    I too think that the fact that all your memories are wonderful of your Dad is a great legacy. I of course don’t know you personally, BUT what I do know of your heart – through your writing – he raised an amazingly funny and sweet daughter.

    Reply

  7. Kelley
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 12:08:11

    I love that EVERY memory is a good one. Thinking of you as you go through these next few days. : )

    Reply

  8. Tater Mama
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 20:03:25

    Many thanks, friends, for your kind thoughts. My Dad would have liked you all, and I know he would’ve gotten a kick out of all of your blogs! 🙂 One of the great things about him was that if you and I were friends, he was immediately crazy about you, too.

    Reply

  9. Mrs Lemon
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 11:00:56

    That’s awesome, really.

    Reply

  10. thefarmerfiles
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 18:22:39

    Thanks for sharing your heart and how much your daddy meant.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

