It’s All About Saving Money

For the last several months, we’ve been trying to be extra careful with our spending, what with the economy sliding downhill and all.  Like a lot of people out there, I’ve been looking around for ways to find cheaper ways of doing things.

Take cleaning the house.  If you do it less often, you use fewer cleaning supplies, which means that you don’t have to replace them as often.  And THAT means that you SAVE MONEY.  Once that idea struck me, I declared myself a financial genius and presented it to my husband as the new Tater Family Stimulus Package.  He just looked at me and wrote, “Ha Ha” in the dust that had accumulated on the coffee table.

For a while there, I was clipping coupons like crazy until I realized that, for us, it is pointless.  I’m not one of those people who is good enough at using coupons to make it worth the trouble it takes to find a pair of sharp scissors.  I also tend to buy the store-brand rather than name-brand items, and coupons only work for the name-brand stuff.  Even with a coupon, the store-brand is usually cheaper and I don’t have to go sifting through the Sunday circulars.  Plus, if I shop at Schnuck’s, I’ve found a great way to save even more moolah.  The more you spend on groceries, the more you save at their gas pumps.  The last time I filled up, it cost something ridiculous, like $12, and that was for nearly 15 gallons of premium gasoline.  If I’m doing the math correctly, that was a savings of somewhere around $18.  I couldn’t clip $18 worth of coupons if someone promised me a lifetime supply of diet coke.  And nothing would motivate me to clip coupons like a lifetime supply  of diet coke.

Y’all aren’t going to believe how I’ve saved the biggest amount of money so far, though.

It involves my hair.

The last time I had anything done to my hair was in January, and I wrote about it here.  I’ve needed a haircut for about a month, but by the time I pay for the haircut and tip everyone who speaks to me from the time I walk in, I’ve spent about $65.  I’ve never given it that much thought before, but like I said, I’m trying to do my part and cut out some of the unnecessary stuff.  And, really, now.  Let’s face it.  Who do I have to impress?  A toddler and four dogs?  Tater Daddy?  Please.  He’s seen me when I’ve had the stomach flu.  That man is not afraid of anything my hair can throw at him.

But I still needed a haircut.  It was getting hard to see, and I was starting to understand life from a sheepdog’s point of view.

That’s when my friend, Amy, came to the rescue.  As is just so happened, she’d found herself in the same hairdo/saving money boat not too long ago, and she shared her solution with me.  She popped in to one of the beauty schools here in town and let them do her hair.  She even let them do her color.   I KNOW!   That Amy?  She is one brave sister.  

Her hair looked pretty good, so a couple of weeks ago I took the plunge and put my hair in the hands of a non-licensed “glamour technician.”  Her name was Nikki, but wouldn’t it have been great if it had been Annelle?  She was just as nice as she could be, and my haircut?  Not bad at all.  My bangs are still a little too long, but that’s my fault.  I was so worried that she would cut them too short that I think I scared her into barely cutting them at all.  Other than that, she managed to follow the same cut that my regular fellow gives me.  Granted, it took almost an hour and a half for her to finish the job, but I will say that any time she had a question about anything, she called her instructor over and asked.  Overall, I am very pleased.

I did find out that not many people drop in to have their hair highlighted, so the students don’t have a lot of experience with that.  Of course, they’ve all put color on mannequins, but not so much with the human folk.  Good to know.

Because while I was very pleased with my $7 haircut and a savings of about $53, when it comes to getting my gray covered up, I think I’ll make an appointment with the fellow who’s been working on my hair for the last 15 years or so.

The way I figure it, if I get my hair cut twice at the beauty school, I’ve already saved over $100.  That will more than cover the cost of the next round of coloring at my regular salon.

Heck.  There’ll probably be enough left over for a new can of Lemon Pledge.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather U
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 08:27:35

    You go with your snazzy thrifty self! I think your hair cut rational is brilliant… totally justifies the color and high light from your tried and true hair stylist of the past 15 years. Loyalty when it comes to your hair stylist is important, even in the midst of a stinkin’ recession ;).

    Reply

  2. JLI
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 09:46:54

    “She was the valedictorian of the hair-do class!”

    *Grin* Lovin’ the Steel Mag references!

    You know, I used to be all about my salon, but I’m becoming much less vain about my hair, for much the same reason as yourself – hubby has seen me at my worst and STILL married me.

    When the gray hair started to take over my head like crabgrass, I went to Sally Beauty and spent $18 to get gloves, an application brush, creme color and developer. That saved me about $57. Last week I went to Great Clips to get my hair cut (nothing drastic, mind you) and that was only $15. Savings? Around $30. And Great Clips is awesome about sending out coupons. I’ve gotten hair cuts for $7 there before!

    And what’s this about Schnucks and gas pumps? They have that down there?!? Word?!? Not here, and we’re HOME to the Schuncks Family! What’s up with that?!?
    *****************************************************
    You’re home to the Schnuck’s Family? Sister, I’d march myself right up and ask for my free gas, please and thank-you! Oh, yes ma’am, Schnuck’s has those little convenience markets with gas pumps. Love ’em.

    Reply

  3. Kim H.
    Apr 06, 2009 @ 11:03:22

    I’ve never heard of Schnucks, but my stepmother has a store near them that does something similar. So she goes through their section of gift cards, and everytime she needs to buy something – she gets the gift cards from the grocery store first – to get the points for her free gas. They haven’t paid for gas in like MONTHS!

    Reply

  4. Trackback: None of Which Is It’s Own Post « Tater Tales

Leave a Reply

