The Destroyer

A friend of mine called the other day while she was on her way out of town and it had been a good long while since we’d caught up on the scoop in each other’s lives, so I settled in for a nice chat.  I gave Tater Tot a couple of Pop Tarts a very healthy snack and my friend started filling me in on her scoop.  And what good scoop it is, y’all.  She’s in luuuuuuuv, and it’s the real thing, and she is H-A-P-P-Y!

As my friend and I talked, I was pretty impressed by how well Tater Tot entertained himself.  He would come in every now and then and bang around, but overall I couldn’t believe that he was “letting” me talk on the phone for so long.  Remember, he’s two-and-a-half.

My friend and I got off the phone, and I headed off to resume my list of things to do.

First on the list?  Clean up the destruction left behind when Tater Tot the Tornado tore through the house.  (The ladder in the background is a nice decorating touch, no?)

I had just put the vacuum cleaner away when the phone rang (which is why you see things piled up the way they are), so the floor was clean and all those toys were where they should be.

100_0489

Why keep dirty laundry in the basket when it can be dumped on the floor?

100_0492

Mama’s slippers look much better out of the closet next to some toys and the empty laundry basket.

100_0493

I asked Tater Tot why he’d made such a big mess while I was on the phone, and he said, “Oh, Mama.   You’re so funny!”

Amazingly, he helped me put it all back where it belonged…where it stayed for all of 9 seconds when he said, “Let’s do it again!”

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 15:51:00

    Oh, the look on his face is PRECIOUS….but very, very guilty (to a discerning adult, of course).

    Reply

  2. thefarmerfiles
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 17:57:26

    LOL that NEVER happens at our house. HA!

    Reply

  3. Kelley
    Apr 08, 2009 @ 19:02:17

    I have that at my house too.

    Only it’s the result of a 39 year old man. : )

    Reply

  4. Kim H.
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 08:44:04

    How adorable… it could be worse – he could have gotten into some markers or something like that. 🙂
    ****************************************
    Oh, you are so right. I have a friend whose child recently found the jar of Vick’s Vapor Rub and smeared the whole thing all over one of her upholstered chairs. Can you imagine? There’s no way to get that smell out! I’m still waiting to hear what she’s decided to do, but I’m guessing she’s going chair shopping soon.

    Reply

  5. Kerstin
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 12:06:27

    Love it! I always wonder why I spend so much time cleaning up when you know it’s going to happen again in “9 seconds.” 🙂

    Reply

  6. Heather U
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 06:40:02

    The destroyer is one of my many nicknames for my youngest, who I’m thinking is just about the same age as yours! Man if we ever got those two together our houses might never recover ;).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

