So What If It’s Old?

Despite the fact that it’s the middle of April and things are blooming all over the place, today’s high in Memphis was somewhere around PUT ON A COAT OR ELSE YOU WILL BE COLD.  In other words, around 50 degrees.

That means that when we woke up this morning it was cold enough to drag out the old bathrobe.  And by old, I mean it turned 20 years old in December.  In bathrobe years, that’s what, about 110?

I’m not sure why I’ve held onto it for so many years other than the fact that it’s such a good robe.  My parents gave it to me for my birthday when I was a freshman at Mississippi State.  I lived in a dorm where all the girls shared huge bathrooms that were centrally located on each floor.  We all had our cute little towel wraps with the velcro closures and grosgrain ribbon trim, our flip flops, and our shower caddies filled with all kinds of fruity-smelling shampoos, conditioners, and since it was the late 80s, enormous bottles of Paul Mitchell mousse and/or styling spritz.  It was, after all, the age of big hair. (On a side-note, my freshman roommate was a majorette, which meant that not only could she achieve great hair height, she could get some serious width as well.  It was amazing.)

Those towel wrap thingies were all fine and good for the late summer and fall, but even in Mississippi it gets cold in the winter.  Let me clarify.  The thinly carpeted, concrete-walled hallways of college dorms get cold when you’re walking back to your room with a wet head.  Especially when you and your roommate live in the corner room and the showers are located in the center of the  hall.  B-r-r-r.

When my parents asked me what I wanted for my birthday, which falls in December, it took about five seconds for me to answer, “A long, thick bathrobe.”

Now, my people (meaning my mother) are partial to Land’s End.  And that’s where my birthday robe came from, glory hallelujah.  My parents gave me a thick, white, terry-cloth bathrobe, and I was downright giddy when I opened it.  My sweet mama even washed it so that it was soft and smelled good and was ready to wear.  (My birthday always hit during exams, so when my present arrived, it was all ready for me to snuggle up and study in.  My mama is so GOOD!)

The robe has lived with me in two dorms, a sorority house, three apartments, and three houses.  I think I’ve even taken it on a couple of vacations, which probably required an extra suitcase, much to Tater Daddy’s dismay.

It hangs on the back of my bathroom door.  It’s not quite as white as it once was, and it’s a little frayed here and there, but all-in-all, it’s in good shape, don’t you think?

robe1

Every now and then I think about replacing my old bathrobe, but I’ve never been able to go through with it.  It’s not that I’m overly sentimental about my bathrobe, but the only garment I’ve kept nearly as long is my wedding dress.  Seeing as how I’ve only worn it once in 14 years after which I had it cleaned and freeze-dried, or whatever those preservation people do to wedding dresses, I’m pretty sure that the bathrobe wins in the “quality” department.

One of these days I suppose it’ll eventually wear out.  But I’m guessing it’s still got another 10 years or so left in it.  I just hope that Land’s End is still around when it’s time to replace it.  Their track record is awfully good.  

(And believe it or not, this post was not sponsored by Land’s End.  I just thought I should give credit where it’s due.)

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 08:30:56

    See, I love that! Loyalty! This is one of those instances it’s totally cool to take out a 2nd mortgage on your home to buy a good robe. Mama got her money’s worth!

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 09:22:38

    I does look great for 20 years! Impressive!

    Reply

  3. Lora Lynn
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 13:17:52

    “cleaned and freeze-dried.” hee.

    Reply

  4. Kelley
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 13:43:16

    I too have a robe that is half it’s age, but I just can’t part with in all of its terry cloth goodness.

    Reply

  5. Diane
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 15:15:16

    How I remember living with you AND this robe! And you forgot to write that it doubled as an afghan for afternoon naps. So good.
    *****************************************
    Okay, internets! This is THE roommate, Diane, whom I’ve written about several times! See, she can attest to the fact that my love of napping goes way back.

    Diane, you made my day!

    Reply

  6. thefarmerfiles
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 02:08:29

    LOL did you take it to the hospital with you when you had TT?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

