Everyone Needs a Friend Like That

Last Friday afternoon I was running a few errands before picking up Tater Tot from Parent’s Day Out.  As I was putting something in my car, two elderly ladies standing in the rows directly across from me caught my eye.  They had obviously been somewhere together, because, honey, they were dressed up.  And they were both just as cute as buttons.

I got in my car and watched them as they said goodbye to each other, laughing and patting on each other with such familiarity and gentleness.  As one of them got ready to cross the lane and walk to her car, the other stopped her, and — I swear — straightened her wig.  Apparently it was a little askew.

Rather than seem embarrassed, the wig-wearer just tilted her head back and laughed.  Then she poked her friend with her elbow and teeter-tottered to her car.  She got in her great big pearly-white Lincoln, and her friend eased into her sleek black Cadillac.

I finally quit gawking at that point and went on my merry way, but I’ve thought of those two ladies all weekend.  There was something spunky about them, and I do love spunky little old ladies.  But more than that, there was something so dear about their friendship.  I imagine they’ve seen each other through just about everything life can throw out.  Joy, pain, surprises -both good and bad, laughter, tears, the fat days and the skinny days, the times when their husbands acted like complete morons and the times when they came through like heroes.  You name it, and I’ll be willing to bet that they were right there with each other.

In all, I probably watched those ladies for less than a minute, but seeing them made me happy.  Thinking about them still makes me smile.  

All of us need at least one friend who loves us enough to straighten our wig now and then.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thefarmerfiles
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 02:06:07

    Hope to make little old lady friends like that
    (ok, but in their 30s right now) in San Diego!

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 07:42:51

    Awww… that is so sweet. I hope that I have a friend that would straighten my wig for me someday. 🙂

    Reply

  3. JLI
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 09:09:35

    Would I sound like a total newlywed if I said I’m pretty sure my husband is the other half of that kind of friendship to me? Because really, he’s the only man who’s ever penetrated the depths of true friendship in such a way that would easily rival that with some of my best girlfriends. Though I am blessed to have a few gals that I have no doubt would straighten my wig for me!
    ***************************
    Nah. You just sound like a gal who knows how much her husband loves her.

    Reply

  4. Kelley
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 10:00:04

    Oh I love stories like that!

    Reply

  5. Marty
    Apr 21, 2009 @ 18:08:36

    I really liked this until I got to the last line. But now I am in awe. You have shown the light on truth and beauty and it has become even more true and beautiful. Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

