Breaking In New Shoes

After I picked up Tater Tot Friday afternoon, we headed out for a shoe-shopping adventure because the little fellow’s feet grew about two sizes overnight.  Half an hour later, we left the shoe store slightly poorer, but I was relieved to know that our son’s little toes have plenty of wiggle room.  Well, for a few weeks, at least.  

It was such a pretty afternoon that we decided to play outside when we got home, and the first thing on Tater Tot’s agenda was to find some dirt and play in it. 

playing-in-the-dirt

The reason his back is dirty is because he laid down in the dirt and made “dirt angels.”

dirt-angel

I know.  I can’t really make out an angel either, but according to him, there is a dirt angel there just as plain as day, so I’m taking his word for it.  Plus, he begged me to take a picture of it for him.

(That random electrical cord, by the way, runs from the house to the car house, which obviously isn’t wired.  It’s also useless when it comes to housing cars, but that’s for another post.)

If I ever meet the fellow who came up with the idea of making gray tennis shoes, I might just kiss him right on the face.  And here’s why.

new-shoes

It would appear that his sock is the only thing getting dirty, but let me assure you that his little shoe was filthy.  

I suppose it makes his new pair feel like his old pair, except now he can stretch his toes out.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 07:56:47

    for like one day. Sorry, my finger slipped. Hate it when that happens. 🙂 Anyway, have a fantabulous day. I miss my boys being Tater’s age. They’re all so big and yucky now. And by yucky, I mean not small with the yummy smell anymore. Now they all smell like dogs. Have a wonderful day!

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 07:58:41

    Ok, I have no idea how that happened. All I said before was that grey was the only way I ever went as far as shoes go, too. They don’t stay clean long enough to buy anything but! Your little guy is so presh.

    Reply

  3. Kim H.
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 07:59:50

    Nice shoes!! I love the dirt angel… it’s about the closest thing I could use to make any sort of angel in my neck of the woods. 🙂

    Reply

  4. JLI
    Apr 22, 2009 @ 10:44:17

    I love the fact that you’ll let him MAKE dirt angels! I don’t know if I could do that! Then again, there’s always the “if you can beat ’em, join ’em” theory…

    Reply

  5. thefarmerfiles
    May 05, 2009 @ 15:27:27

    LOL I always cringe when my kids get dirt on their new shoes…aww how RELAXED you are!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

