And He Shall Be Called…

…Small Fry.

Here I am again.

That’s right.

Tater Tot has a little brother.  He arrived Sunday afternoon, and weighed 6 pounds, 5 ounces.  We think he’s the tiniest thing we’ve ever seen, and compared to Tater Tot, who weighed an ounce over 9 pounds, he is.

He is wonderful.  He has that sweet baby smell.  I like to imagine that there’s a whole section of Heaven that smells just like babies.  He “smiles” now and then, and my mother says that the angels are playing with him.  I love that.

He’s also still in the Neonatal ICU, where he’s been since he was born.  He’s going to be okay, and what he’s going through is not life-threatening.  But he has to stay there for a little longer.  We know with absolute certainty that he is where he needs to be, and that he’s receiving the best care in the world.  He’s also managed to charm every nurse on every shift.  He’s four days old, and he’s already trying to work the room.  It appears that he’s taking after his Daddy and his big brother.

We have the kindest friends who’ve offered to keep Tater Tot while we go to the hospital during visiting hours, and a couple of friends have even met us at the hospital to entertain him there.  Since we don’t live that far from the hospital, sometimes Tater Daddy and I tag-team it.

We would appreciate your prayers for our sweet little Small Fry; that he’ll respond well to the treatment he’s receiving and that his recovery will be swift; that he’ll continue to grow and thrive.

Many thanks, friends.

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs Lemon
    May 08, 2009 @ 07:26:45

    How did I not know you were expecting a baby!?!?!?! that is awesome – congratulations.

    Small Fry. Snort. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Meg @ Spicy Magnolia
    May 08, 2009 @ 07:45:06

    Oh my good golly!!!! This is AMAZING! And I am sitting here in tears, rejoicing with you at this wonderful bundle of love who has made his way into your lives!! I do not have the words, except for congratulations! He is pure preciousness, oh yes he is! (I can’t seem to use enough exclamation marks to express my enthusiasm!) and I can’t wait to hear more and see more pics of Small Fry. Congratulations, and most assuredly am praying for you all!! Lots of love!

    Reply

  3. Melanie
    May 08, 2009 @ 07:46:23

    Oh my gosh! Congratulations!!!! What fabulous news. And Small Fry! That’s hysterical. Love it.

    Much joy to you all.
    Melanie

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    May 08, 2009 @ 07:55:02

    Congratulations! He is beautiful~I can’t wait to hear what Tater thinks of him! I am so happy for you and your precious family!

    Reply

  5. Jenny
    May 08, 2009 @ 08:19:32

    I can’t believe I read your blog all the time and I didn’t know you were expecting a baby! Congratulations!!!!!!! He is precious. All of you are on my prayer list!

    Hugs

    Reply

  6. JLI
    May 08, 2009 @ 08:33:18

    I am glad I’m not the only one who feels DUPED by this news!!! OM. MY. GOODNESS. Congratulations!! He is, in a word, stinkinadorable!

    I think I am most bummed that we didn’t get to see any pictures of you. 😦 Yes, I am going to pout now. Although, all the posts about Diet Cokes and snacks galore is definitely lending itself toward a certain condition. HA!

    I bet Tater Tot is so happy, not to mention Mom & Dad, of course. 🙂

    How on EARTH did you manage to not blog about this? What are you? Some sort of blogging superhero? I don’t know anyone who would have that kind of self-control! Stunned. Amazed. But mostly just thrilled for you!

    Reply

    • Tater Mama
      May 08, 2009 @ 12:55:41

      That “certain condition” you speak of is just hunger. And no self control when it comes to the Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.

      I’m sorry if you feel duped. That was never the intention, my friend.

      Reply

  7. thefarmerfiles
    May 08, 2009 @ 13:09:14

    He is precious! Congratulations!

    Reply

  8. D
    May 08, 2009 @ 22:55:13

    Yeah, baby!

    Reply

  9. Heather U
    May 09, 2009 @ 01:35:45

    How is it that in all my reading of your blog, not once did you happen to mention that you were pregnant? That’s kinda a BIG thing yo!Bury the lead why don’t ya ;).

    Congratulations on the newest addition! I’ll be praying that your transition from a family of three to a family of four in an easy one.

    Reply

  10. Kim H.
    May 09, 2009 @ 08:26:55

    Congratulations!! I too am completely shocked that you didn’t blog about it before… how in the world did you not have a funny story or 12 about being pregnant? I’m sure Tater Tot had to have said some cute and funny things about seeing Mommy’s tummy growing. 🙂

    He is absolutely beautiful… and I can’t wait to hear more about Small Fry and Tater Tot’s adventures… oh and your sanity along the way. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Kelley
    May 09, 2009 @ 10:34:32

    HOLY PAJAMAS!!!

    Congrats! And a prayer has been said for Small Fry. 🙂

    Reply

  12. pcb
    May 10, 2009 @ 09:40:37

    Congratulations on Small Fry AND your ability to keep such a huge secret!

    Reply

  13. Jamie
    May 10, 2009 @ 14:30:39

    He is just perfect. Congrats!

    Reply

  14. Diane
    May 10, 2009 @ 16:34:54

    Yes, he is beautiful. How thrilled I am for you. Happy Mother’s Day, my sweet friend.

    Reply

  15. Tatersmama
    May 10, 2009 @ 20:22:34

    Well, I certainly know who to entrust MY secrets to!!!

    Congratulations on the beautiful little addition to your family! He’s simply precious… And that “new baby smell?” Isn’t it wonderful??? ahhhhhhhh!

    What a happy surprise! (and I have to admit, Small Fry sounds much better than *spud*) *snort*

    Happy Mothers Day, little Momma!!!!

    Reply

  16. Jenna
    May 17, 2009 @ 00:00:02

    Oh my word! This would be the one time I didn’t click over to read your blog for a week or so (been a little busy)… but obviously not as busy as you! Congrats to the whole tater family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

