The Best Glass of Water

It’s no secret that I’m not a big water drinker.  In fact, while most people’s bodies are made up mostly of water, mine consists primarily of diet coke.  I’m pretty sure my blood type is diet coke positive.

My second favorite beverage is ice-cold unsweetened tea with lemon and sweet-n-low or equal.  In the summer, I crave it.  If it’s from McAlister’s Deli, I’ve been known to drool a little.  I’m not proud of that fact, but it’s the truth.

If I’ve been working in the yard, or if I’ve been on one of my regular six-mile runs — okay, I threw that in to see if you were paying attention…you can stop laughing now.

Every so often, if I’m really hot, I’ll grab a bottle of water and gulp it down.  But you can sure-as-heck bet that it’s chased with a diet coke to cut the blandness of all that water.

Tater Tot is now tall enough to reach the ice and water dispensers on the refrigerator, and his Daddy and I aren’t in the habit of pushing the “lockout” button yet.  If we don’t hurry up and get into the habit, we’re going to find ourselves with a rotten kitchen floor.

But I digress.

Sunday afternoon, Tater Tot got a cup from the drying rack by the sink and filled it with ice-water.  I watched him walk ever so slowly from the kitchen into the den toward my chair with the biggest smile on his face.  My first instinct was to jump up and prevent the spill I just knew was coming, but I stayed put because of that wonderful grin.

Holding the cup in his precious, chubby little hands, he held it out to me.

“I made it for you, Mama!” he said with absolute delight.  

He climbed up into the chair with me, and we shared the most delicious cup of water I’ve ever tasted.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim H.
    May 12, 2009 @ 11:40:31

    That is so sweet – you’ve got a charmer on your hands… well maybe two now! 🙂 You are in BIG trouble! HA!

    Reply

  2. Kerstin
    May 12, 2009 @ 19:35:26

    So sweet!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

