And the Heat is On

You know what’s alarming?

Looking out your back door and seeing smoke floating across the deck, knowing that it’s coming from your air conditioning unit.

Take a wild guess how I know this.

Right.

So I called our nice air conditioning repair people, described the scene, and in a little while, my new BFF Corey showed up at our door.

“I think your unit is possessed by a demon,” he said when I opened the door.  I couldn’t help but agree.

After inspecting the unit, Corey pronounced it a goner, and called the time of death 2:45 p.m.  Apparently the fan blade broke, severed the coils, and killed the unit.  The smoke I saw washing across the deck was actually freon.  The house was not in danger of burning down, but he didn’t accuse me of being crazy for thinking that could have been a possibility.

Fortunately, we bought the unit from Corey’s dad about five years ago, and the whole thing is still under warranty.  In a few days all the parts will be here, Corey will install them, and it will be as good as new.

It will be like performing our own little air conditioning exorcism, I suppose.

Until then we have our little fans going like crazy, and Tater Daddy put in a little window unit in one of the bedrooms.  Because summer has come to Memphis, and the heat is on.


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim H.
    May 15, 2009 @ 15:32:15

    My goodness – you guys really have some crazy electronic happenings in your house… from laptops to air conditioners… maybe your place is the electronics looney bin?
    *************************
    Well, you’ve got the “looney” part right! 🙂

    Reply

  2. JLI
    May 15, 2009 @ 15:34:00

    And we KNOW how much the Tater family loves them some hot weather! I say get your Diet coke on with tons and tons of ice!

    That’s one thing about hot weather I don’t like – you can only take your clothes OFF…it’s not like you can take your skin off! At least when it’s cold, as long as there are blankets, there’s hope!
    **********************************
    I’m with you. I’d rather be cold than hot for the same reason. You can only take OFF so much before things start getting illegal, or in my case, just plain scary. Like you said, when it’s cold, you can wrap up in blankets…or the increasingly popular slanket. As for the diet coke consumption, I’m going through them as fast as possible just so I’ll have an excuse to go to the store where it’s nice and cool.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

