Green Acres is the Place to Be….

We made a fast trip to my mother’s farm Sunday afternoon.  While we were there, she asked Tater Tot if he’d like to ride her little garden tractor.  Within seconds, they had the thing cranked up and for the next half hour or so, they rode around on it.  I don’t know who enjoyed it more.

Here they are waiting for it to warm up.

Starting the Kubota

And they’re off!  FYI…The little plot of land behind them is where my mother has planted watermelons and cantaloupes.  Have mercy!  I can’t wait!

There they go

After Tater Tot’s driving lesson, she declared that he is a pro at tractor-driving.

Learning to drive

 I hope he continues to love coming to Poopsie’s farm, and I hope he learns to appreciate this piece of land that has meant so much to his family.  Because one day, he and his little brother will share and become stewards of it.

field 1

Land stretchin’ out so far and wide…

Keep Manhattan, just give me that countryside!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kerstin
    May 20, 2009 @ 20:18:33

    How wonderful to have such a beautiful piece of land for your family to enjoy and pass on for generations.

    Reply

  2. thefarmerfiles
    May 22, 2009 @ 10:59:48

    Precious…but where does she take that canoe in the background?
    ******************************
    There’s a lake on the farm, and my Dad used to go fishing every now and then. I guess it’s actually a pond, but it’s a mighty big one, so we call it a lake. When we were little, we would go down to the lake and swim and cook hamburgers with my grandparents. Honestly, I can’t believe I fell for it when they told me, “Oh, there aren’t any snakes on THIS side of the lake.” Haha! Children have such faith.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

