The Summer Home

Have you ever wanted a little place out in the country?

A place that would leave your friends speechless if you invited them to stay with you for the weekend?

I don’t want to brag, but our family has just such a place on my mother’s farm.

We call it The Summer Home.

summer home

Now you can see why I don’t like to brag.

The Summer Home has seen its better days.  When my grandfather was alive, this farm was a peach orchard.  He built this little house so he would have a place to cool off and rest in the afternoons.  My grandparents lived in town, and it wasn’t convenient to drive into town for an afternoon break.  

When my brother and I were little, we spent a lot of time out at the orchard, which means we spent a lot of time in the summer house.  It had a table and chairs, a TV and radio, an air conditioner, and a bed so Papa could take a little nap.  It also had the tiniest bathroom I’ve ever seen.  But the best thing in there was the refrigerator.  Papa kept it full of ice-cold Ne-Hi grape and orange sodas, Sprites, and Cokes in the tiny little bottles.  Our town had a Coca-Cola bottling plant at one time, and I remember going with him to buy wooden crates of bottled Cokes.  (Does anyone remember the “old” Cokes in the little glass bottles?  They were delicious.)

My grandfather retired from farming and finally bulldozed the last of his peach trees, except for a few down by the lake, in the fall of 1991.  He passed away just a few months later after a short illness.

The house is now used for storage, and Tater Daddy and I seem to be filling it up as fast as we can.  Remember when I unpacked our Christmas Tree last year?  It had been in the summer home for a couple of years.  However, earlier this spring, a friend of ours cleaned out the house and put rat poison and D-CON everywhere.  We hope that will help control the mouse problem, which will keep the things that eat mice far, far away.

Well, there you have it.  I’ve shown you our family’s second home.  It’s probably the most luxurious one we’ll ever have, too.  Because we’re just that fancy.

I hope you and your family have a safe and fun Memorial Day weekend.  I”ll see you around next week when I hope to be able to tell you that Small Fry is home.  Wouldn’t that be a wonderful way to celebrate the weekend?  Amen.  And amen!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenny
    May 22, 2009 @ 13:12:17

    Oh I remember those old “cokes” in the tiny bottles. They tasted so much better than cokes today. My grandparents had an old fridge with the motor on the top and they always kept the little cokes in there for us.

    Reply

  2. thefarmerfiles
    May 22, 2009 @ 16:25:50

    Yes, we drank the cokes from the coke bottles. 😉 I loved this Tater Tale.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

