Recapping the Week in Pictures

I am wimping out again and using pictures rather than writing a real post.  As it turns out, adding a second Tater to the family is taking a little more of my time and energy than I originally anticipated.  Who knew?  (Somewhere, my friend, Diane, is howling.)

We went to the hospital late Saturday afternoon to pick up Small Fry.  Here he is all buckled into his car seat, ready for the ride home.  Am I the only one who doesn’t put shoes on babies in the summer?  Baby feet are so sweet.  Just look at them.  I can’t cover those sweet toes up!

I'm ready to leave the NICU!

After three weeks in the NICU, saying goodbye to the nurses felt kind of strange.  They were the ones who had been taking care of Small Fry around the clock.  We talked to them throughout the day, and would you believe that one of them turned out to be a very distant relative?  Small world.  I really thought we’d swoop in, get Small Fry dressed, and screech out of the parking lot on two wheels, but we found ourselves lingering a little bit to give hugs.  Before I knew it, I was crying a little.  Or a lot.  It depends on how you define the two terms.  I would have taken a picture of the nurses, but I could not cry and work the camera at the same time.  Oh, those NICU nurses were the best.  I don’t know how they do what they do.

Sunday was full of visitors.  Poopsie came early that morning and stayed until late afternoon.  She’s thrilled to have a new grandson, but you know that she and Tater Tot are as thick as thieves.  He wanted her to play with him, and that’s exactly what she did.  Here they are on the front porch swing.

Poopsie and B

Then they just started acting silly.

Poopsie and B are silly

About an hour before Mama left, Tater Daddy’s family came.  Here’s Pawpaw with his youngest grandsons.

100_0629

Small Fry, being the 4-week-old that he is, sleeps a lot.  His expression doesn’t change much when we take his picture.  However, this one is one of my favorites.  It makes me think he’s not so sure about the nurses’ decision to turn him loose…

I need to rethink this

I took this before we went to Small Fry’s first visit to the pediatrician, where he was pronounced PERFECTLY HEALTHY!  I know I’ve already posted one similar to it, but  I lurve it and can’t help myself.

big brother, little brother 2

Later that afternoon, my dear friend, Kristi, stopped by on her way back to Starkville.  Here she is with her little fan club.

kristi and her fan club

Kristi is one of the most thoughtful people you’ll ever meet.  The last time she stayed with us, Tater Tot (and Duke, for that matter) fell completely in love with her.  She brought Tater Tot the most wonderful set of bubble wands EVER.  It’s a good thing, too, because they were the only thing that convinced him to stay here rather than going home with Kristi.

bubbles 1

bubbles 2

That just about covers the highlights.  Our weekend was pretty slow and laid back.  I hope yours was wonderful.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kerstin
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 14:24:30

    LOVE all the pictures! Makes me wonder how Audrey will react to a little brother or sister… one day. 🙂

    Reply

  2. thefarmerfiles
    Jun 01, 2009 @ 18:53:00

    Take your time with Small Fry. These small days won’t be back. sniff sniff.

    Reply

  3. Christi
    Jun 03, 2009 @ 08:26:38

    Since my kids preschool days are behind them (and there won’t be any more kids) I enjoy looking at pictures of little ones and remembering mine at that age.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

