A Perfect Friday Night Date

I don’t want you to get the wrong idea about me, but I stepped out Friday night with a younger man.  He wooed me with tickets to a show at a theatre downtown and promised to hold my hand and whisper sweet things in my ear.

My mama did not raise a fool.  While I love Tater Daddy to pieces, I could not resist this young fellow’s invitation, even though I did have to drive.

on our way!

Not to mention the fact that he insisted on carrying an inflated blue glove with him.  But whatever.  Quirky works for me.

That’s right.  Tater Tot and I had a date!  Just the two of us, out on the town, living it up toddler style.

We had tickets on the 5th row to see “Bob the Builder.”  LIVE!  (Are you jealous much?  Don’t be.)

My date was a perfect gentleman as we waited for the show to begin.  He was dressed appropriately in his official Bob the Builder hardhat, and the windmill was the perfect accessory.

waiting for the show!

Once the show started and the characters appeared onstage, he made sure I knew which one was Bob.

There's Bob!

Even when this little boy in the seat right in front of him sat way up on his knees, which he did for the majority of the show without one word from his tacky mother, Tater Tot never complained.

the rude little boy

(Fortunately, there was an empty seat next to us, so Tater Tot was able to move and have a better view.  But still.)

Toward the end of the show, my sweet little date did hold my hand and he hugged my neck so tightly that I wanted that moment to last forever.

But before I knew it, the show was over it was time to leave.  We left the theatre, walked to our car, and on the way home we stopped for a cheeseburger.

When we got home, Tater Tot walked me to the door.  And later that night, I got what just might have been the sweetest hug and kiss in the history of hug-and-kissdom.

I sure hope he wants to hang out again soon…

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thefarmerfiles
    Jun 08, 2009 @ 00:52:51

    Awww this is so sweet…I am sure you are going to do super well with the two!!!

    Reply

  2. Kim H.
    Jun 08, 2009 @ 08:09:44

    That is just too precious… I love it! He looks so happy – it melts my heart.

    Reply

  3. Meg @ Spicy Magnolia
    Jun 08, 2009 @ 13:32:11

    Oh, so wonderful!!! He sure does look like the perfect gentleman! What a night to treasure!

    Reply

  4. Tatersmama
    Jun 08, 2009 @ 18:08:08

    Oh just have a look at that sweet, sweet face! The joy in his eyes at seeing Bob, made MY eyes well up and the breath catch in my throat.
    What a perfect gentleman – and how cute is that tiny white shirt?!

    Girl, cherish these moments… because it’s moments like this, that will keep you from wringing his neck, once he becomes a teenager!!

    I have great memories of “my” little Tater and I taking long walks in the dark, holding hands and counting all the stars in the sky… and talking boy dreams…
    He was still willing to do it when he was a teenager… so I KNOW that I was very blessed!
    (besides, it was dark and no one could see him holding hands with his mama!!)

    Reply

  5. Jennifer
    Jun 10, 2009 @ 21:15:36

    Bahahahahahahahaha! This post CRACKED me up. Not b/c I am mean, but b/c you write so eloquently about it and you have kept your sanity! You’re doing much better than I did!

    And that lipstick, girlfriend, I have that same shade, so of COURSE I recognized it!!!! Love it. Apparently, so does Tater Tot. 🙂

    Happy parenting of more than 1, my friend! Stay strong…there’s a verse that says that in Joshua 1…stay strong and be courageous! Especially with the magic a 3 year old can do with lipstick!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

