What Kind of Mushrooms Were They?

Several years ago I did away with my recipe box and spent an entire weekend typing my favorite and most-used recipes, slipping them into slick little sleeve protectors, and organizing them in a three-ring binder.  Since then, whenever I find a recipe in a magazine that I think I might want to try, I just slip it in where it belongs.  Because I’m not the only person in the house who eats what I cook, I usually ask Tater Daddy to take a look at the recipes in some of the magazines I get and see if anything looks good to him, and if it does, he flags it.

Now that life is a little more hectic around here and I don’t have as much time to spend worrying with supper, I’ve started collecting recipes that don’t require many ingredients or time.  I decided to try one of those recipes Wednesday night:  Hamburger Steak with Sweet Onion-Mushroom Gravy from the April 2008 issue of Southern Living.  It happened to be one of the things flagged by Tater Daddy.  And look, it only took a year for me to get around to making it.  Bless that man’s heart…

Any-ol-hoo.  I followed the directions, and it took about 40 minutes from start to finish.  It was pretty good, but I’ll admit that I could have easily eaten the onion-mushroom gravy and mashed potatoes and left the meat out of the meal.  The gravy was really good, y’all.  Sop-it-up-with-a-biscuit good.

But I am starting to wonder about those mushrooms.

Because I dreamed ALL NIGHT LONG, and none of them made any sense.  Not a lick.  Let me just give you a brief rundown of some of the ones I remember.

  • DREAM 1:  My senior class was called back to redo graduation because someone discovered it was done incorrectly 21 years ago.  For whatever reason, I was extremely upset because I had nothing to wear except cutoff blue jean shorts and a cheerleading vest.  (Note:  I was not a cheerleader in high school and cutoff blue jean shorts in my Mama’s house?  Oh, no thank you, ma’am.)  My mother told me not to worry; that every time her class had to redo a graduation, she just wore her pajamas.
  • DREAM 2:  My family got together at a camp house that belonged to some cousins, but I’m not sure why.  (Note:  This camp house does not exist in real life. I’ve never seen one like it.)  My cousin was married to a person I’ve never seen before in my entire (real) life.  Her name was Ranita Rae.  She was wearing pleated acid wash jeans.  I remember that the camp house got colder and colder as the dream went on.
  • DREAM 3:  I attended the wedding of a good friend.  This friend DOES exist and is getting married in October, but that’s as real as the dream gets.  In the dream, the wedding was outside.  The guests sat at brown picnic tables and we were all dressed in medieval costumes.  Plus, there were all sorts of little fairies and gnomes that flitted around during the ceremony.  One of the guests whipped out a butterfly net and started catching them.
  • DREAM 4:  This one is really sketchy.  I was either Big Mama‘s personal assistant or her daughter’s nanny.  It was very unclear in the dream.  (And just so you know, I’ve never met Big Mama other than to exchange an email or two.  In email, she is delightful, and I am sure it would be a pleasure to work for her.)  Either way, she was in charge of throwing some sort of party and I was helping her shop at a some warehouse-type place.  Apparently everyone who had promised to help Big Mama had bailed on her.  There was definitely a Mexican theme to the party, because we were buying a lot of chips and salsa. Then the dream took a turn.  The whole Big Mama part went away.  All of a sudden, our family was leaving on a two week vacation, which was a SURPRISE to me!  However, I found myself having to find someone to housesit and take care of the dogs, and then there was the whole packing thing with about 10 hours notice. Oh, and by the way, I was also in charge of flying the plane, so I had to learn how to do that, too

Those are the dreams I can remember.  I’m sure there were more because I kept waking up wondering what in the world was going on and WHY ON EARTH I had just dreamed what I had dreamed.

Now I wonder what kind of mushrooms I bought at the store and if any of my crazy dreams can be blamed on them.

What about you?  Do you remember your dreams?  Do yours ever make sense?

Do you think I got a’hold of some ‘shrooms when I did my grocery shopping earlier in the week?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Jun 13, 2009 @ 07:51:31

    OMG this is HYSTERICAL! And validating! I have weird dreams all the time. They are usually very disconnected. Like I’ll be once place then all of a sudden, “Beam me up, Scotty!”, I’ll be somewhere else and the entire plot changes.

    Did Taterdaddy have dreams too?

    You know what this reminds me of – The Brady Bunch movie where Alice serves spaghetti with ‘shrooms in it!! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Tatersmama
    Jun 13, 2009 @ 20:04:07

    Now maybe it was the ‘shrooms… or maybe it was the onions?
    Onions do that to me all the time and it’s kind of cool that all that weird stuff can be going around in my head… without any 1970’s psychedelics goin’ on, you know?
    I LOVE dreaming that kind of stuff!
    😉

    But weird dreams from food? Yep, I have them too – but usually from fish and chips or onions.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

