Hugs Remembered

Yesterday was the second Father’s Day without my Daddy.  I thought about him a lot yesterday, which means that I smiled at lot because of all the good memories.

If he were still here with us, we would have taken him out to lunch, I would have baked him a chess pie, and I would have given him a lot of hugs.  I miss being able to hug him.  Something about being hugged by Daddy made me feel like everything was okay.  Even if everything really were okay, he made everything okay-er.

I rooted around and found an old picture of the two of us hugging.  I’m guessing I’m about 17, so he would’ve been about 47.  I have no idea where we were, but I know that I loved him enough to hug him in public when I was a teenager.

Daddy, Me 80s

He was one man who did the Daddy thing right.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pendy
    Jun 22, 2009 @ 17:05:59

    What a precious picture. The look on your face says that you KNOW you have the best daddy of them all.

    Reply

  2. Diane
    Jun 22, 2009 @ 17:23:01

    I remember this picture; it lived with us both in the dorm and the Chi O house. So sweet. And how wonderful that you could celebrate Father’s Day with Tater Daddy, Tater Tot, and now Small Fry this year. I hope it was a happy day all day long. Hugs to you, my friend!

    Reply

  3. D
    Jun 22, 2009 @ 22:20:19

    As one who was fortunate to know him I would say you’re right…your dad was an awesome man.

    Reply

  4. Sally
    Jun 24, 2009 @ 16:29:57

    I remember meeting your Daddy! He was such a nice man, OF COURSE! I just saw his picture and had too tell you! You know with all the DC I drink I don’t remember much!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

