What I Did On My Bloggy Vacation

It appears that I’ve channeled my inner 7th-grade spirit and have decided to write about what I did on my vacation in which I went absolutely nowhere.  It was fabulous.

Believe it or not, I only napped once, and it was interrupted by a phone call after about 40 minutes.  Let’s face it.  Napping falls into the category of Things I’d Like to Do Again when a toddler and a newborn are in da house.  I wouldn’t have it any other way.

I watched a fair amount of TV, mostly whatever Tater Daddy was watching.  Oh, my!  There is a whole other world of television outside of Diego and Caillou.  Have y’all seen any of The History Channel’s The Revolution?  I’m normally snoring by the second word when it comes to these shows, but this is a GREAT series.  I’ve also become hooked on Drop Dead Diva, and I hope I can remember to watch it or at least record it.  When Army Wives came on the air, I was all over it.  Then for some reason I forgot to watch one episode, and that was it.  Big Brother started last week.  Some seasons I’m interested, others not so much.  This season seems to promise several train wrecks (Chima is one all unto herself), so I just can’t turn away.  I also want to see if I can catch Jesse with his shirt ON.  

My mother’s garden is starting to come in, so Tater Tot, Small Fry and I met her about halfway between Memphis and her house one day last week.  She loaded us up with tomatoes, cucumbers, and eggplant.  We nearly killed ourselves on BLTs and fried eggplant.  Shut. Your. Mouth.  It was divine.  (She just called to say the corn is ready to be picked.  I wept tears of joy.)

One night we made a homemade pizza.  Exciting, I know.  We’ve never made one, though, and it was pretty good.  I wish the crust had been thinner and crispier, but for a first time effort, it wasn’t bad.  Plus, it was fast.  I was so proud bored that I took a picture of it.

pizza

I found the recipe at cooks.com.  I’ve had a lot of luck using that site, but there may be some others out there.  Do you know of an online recipe site that has great recipes?  I’d love to know about it, because I am in a food RUT.

Our dishwasher died a couple of weeks ago, so I’ve been looking around for one to replace it.  I got serious about it last week and have narrowed it down to two.  Then, because the appliance gods apparently hate us, the microwave joined the dishwasher and “crossed over to the other side.”  Nice.  Have you looked at microwaves lately?  Some of them promise to do everything from cook a roast to make your bed for you every morning.  Those are nice perks, but I don’t want to pay $800 for a microwave.  I’d like a simple microwave; one that will let me set the time to pop my popcorn and reheat leftover pizza; one that will tell me the time; and one that has a timer.  Guess which company makes this model?  Not a single one.

I watched movies with Tater Tot.  We played with dumptrucks and tow-trucks, tractors and bulldozers.  We pretended to be trains and bears and dinosaurs.  We ate peanut butter and jelly sandwiches together, and we ate melting popsicles on the porch.  We read books and played catch and sang songs.  Sometimes, we were simply quite and still.

It’s good to step away for a little while every now and then.  

I guess you could say I took a bloggy nap, and it did me a world of good.

How are YOU?

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs Lemon
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 08:39:55

    I would just like to say that in microwave shopping, you want to look for one that it is APPARENT how to only use seconds instead of minutes. My microwave – the numbers 1-9 are minutes, so if you want 45 seconds to melt some cheese on Doritos to eat with sour cream, you have to hit the power button first before you punch the numbers in. Otherwise you get 4 minute cooked cheese on Doritos.

    I’m just sayin’

    Reply

  2. Lora Lynn
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 08:54:36

    allrecipes.com is my fave. Although pioneer woman’s Tasty Kitchen looks to be spectacular, too.

    Right after I had Willa but before I got over the walking pneumonia (she said, smacking her gums and turning down her hearing aid), our microwave committed suicide. We were receiving all sorts of good meals from folks which needed to be reheated. Since I was “indisposed” and Andrew was on his own with the gang, he didn’t have time to fix or replace the thing. So he got used to reheating stuff with the toaster oven and the stove. By the time I hauled myself out of bed, we’d lived without a microwave for two weeks and I could no longer whine “but I NEEEEEED It.” So we never replaced it. We yanked it out of the wall and put our big fancy espresso machine in the hole. And I only miss it occasionally.
    But when I miss it, I miss it BAD. Good luck shopping!

    Reply

  3. JLI
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 09:19:01

    That pizza looks “slap your mama it’s so tasty” tasty!

    You have a knack for making playing with a young boy sound like a total delight…I have feared having a son for the better part of my life because I know he’ll out “sound effect” me from the time he exits the womb! Then again, I suppose making myself out to be a total fool for the sake of entertaining a little boy could more than make up for the humiliation!

    I’m all for melting popsicles, books and singing. 🙂 It sounds like you had a fabulous “nap”!

    And yea, seriously. What is it with microwaves? Stuff is so fancy these days…we have a m-wave with a dial. That’s it. And ya know what? It does the trick just fine!

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 09:44:11

    Hey! The crust may not have been crispy b/c of your pan~do you have a baking stone from pampered chef? If you do, try using it the next time, even if it’s rectangle like the one you used.

    For recipes, I like the food network~you can browse by shows, and Rachel Ray is fabulous b/c all of her recipes are 30 min. start to finish. I also have to share my favorite cookbook, Southern Living’s Easy Weeknight Favorites. And girl, did you buy a Coll. Elem. one? There are some fab recipes in there!!

    One more thing~a friend shared her recipe with me last for French Dip sandwiches. She buys the meat, cheese and bread at Lenny’s. Butter the bread, and put the roast beef and cheese on one side only. Buy the au jus from the aisle in the store with the packaged gravies. I think I’m going to try it this week! Yum. Ok. I have to go find some food now. I made myself hungry!

    Welcome back!

    Reply

  5. Jenna
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 13:06:06

    Welcome back! It sounds like you had a wonderful, full week. I like RecipeBazaar…

    Reply

  6. Kim
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 22:36:50

    Welcome back…I always enjoy reading your blog.

    Reply

  7. thefarmerfiles
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 10:34:32

    If I was your neighbor….I would make sure to come over for dinner all of the time. And I would butter you up really well. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

