I Wish I Could Tell You

Going back to work has so interfered with my life, and I am learning to function, albeit not very well, on five or six hours of sleep.  That’s per night.  Not per nap.  Oh, naptime, how I miss you.

It sounds like this is going to be about how I wish I could tell you that I don’t regret going back to work but can’t, doesn’t it?  I suppose there are some days I might be tempted to write that kind of post, but this isn’t one of them.  For one thing, Tater Tot is having the time of his life in preschool.  He loves his teachers and his little friends, and he gets to go to Art, Library, P.E., and Music every week.  He plays outside on the playground twice a day, and he gets to carry his Scooby-Doo lunchbox all the way to the cafeteria and eat with the big kids.  According to him, it’s all good.  The faculty is so darn sweet to him that by the time we walk to his classroom every morning, at least 10 people have stopped to say hello and wish him a good day.  (Have I mentioned that I work with the nicest people on earth?)

And Small Fry?  He has adjusted to the transition just as easy as you please.  Nicole, who hangs out with him during the day, could not be sweeter.  She’s just about to spoil him rotten, and we couldn’t be happier with how well she takes care of him.  He is about the happiest baby you’d ever hope to lay eyes on.  He’s also pretty stinkin’ cute, too, although that could be a Mama’s bias coming out.

Oh, look.  Here he is.

Small Fry

Okay, I’ll get on with it. 🙂

The reason I titled his post “I Wish I Could Tell You” is because I wish I could tell you ALL about the  group of kids I’m teaching this year.  Because, y’all, the blog fodder they could provide is endless.  E-N-D-L-E-S-S.

It would be highly unethical for me to write too much about them, but I would like to leave you with a very important piece of advice written by one of my students.  After having acted so terribly in PE last week, the whole class had to sit in time-out for five minutes at the end of the period.  Later that day, I had them write a paragraph explaining what each one thought “good sportsmanship” meant.

Here’s an excerpt from one of those.

“It means that if you lose, you don’t act like a fool.  Don’t poot either.”

I’m pretty sure the student meant to write “pout,” but it’s much more fun to read the other way, isn’t it?

Have a great Saturday.

Be good sports.

And remember, in case you lose, don’t poot.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. pendy
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 06:01:32

    You are right…students would be such great blogging material! I once had a student use the word ‘bargain’ in this sentence: I am bargain down in the mud.

    Also, I guess I had stressed capitalizing the first word of a sentence because one day a student asked me how to make a capital 2.

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Oct 03, 2009 @ 09:00:28

    This made me laugh. Well kinda. And then I felt sorry for you. 😦 I don’t know how you do it, girl. I have the most respect for you, though, because through it ALL, you have a smile on your face.

    If it makes you feel better~which it might not~me and my boys pray for you fabulous teachers each and every single morning.

    Reply

  3. Kerstin
    Oct 05, 2009 @ 17:04:38

    Miss all your hilarious posts but I’m so glad to hear that everything is well in the teaching world and that Tater Tot loves it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

