Fall Break and Stuff

A post in bullet-point format.   Because I’m edgy like that.

  • It’s around 11:00 Tuesday morning and it’s raining.  The little Taters and I are still in our pajamas, the way the good Lord intended it to be.  No one is sick or anything like that.  We’re on Fall Break.  AND THE PEOPLE SAID, “AMEN!”  We have to go back to school tomorrow, but we’re enjoying every minute of unscheduled lazy bliss until it ends.
  • Actually, it hasn’t been four days of pure laziness.  I went to Beth Moore Saturday morning.  I couldn’t make it Friday night, and I’ll be honest.  I’m not sure my system could’ve handled two sessions.  Y’all.  I’m still trying to process everything from Saturday’s four hours, not the least of which is how someone so tiny has so much energy.  I mean…dadgum!  I had to take a nap when I got home.  (You know me, though.  That’s always a good thing.)  At any rate, like anyone who’s attended a LPL event, it was well worth it.
  • Small Fry’s big news is hat he’s discovered that rolling over is fun.  I’ve been trying to make help him do it for a few weeks, but he’s resisted.  Then, Sunday afternoon, I put him on a blanket and let him play while I sat on the sofa and watched.  Within about eight seconds, he was rolling over like nobody’s business.
  • My car tags expired at the end of September and I haven’t had time to have them renewed.  Because we live in the city of Memphis, we have to take our cars through inspection, and it is a pain and a half if you happen to be a working person whose schedule is not flexible.  Translation:  a teacher.  Since we had some time yesterday morning, I loaded up the tiny Taters and we went through inspection, sitting in line for about 35 minutes before it was our turn.  After following all of the directions that were barked toward me, my car failed due to a crack in the windshield.  When I told my husband that I failed inspection (and couldn’t get my tags) he said, “Windshield crack, right?”  Nice.  Nice heads-up there, Tater Daddy.
  • After failing inspection, we left to spend the afternoon with my mother.  It’s been a sweet forever since we’ve seen her, and Tater Tot was going to have an absolute come-apart if he didn’t lay eyes on her.  We rolled into town around 1:00, and I wasn’t paying much attention to the speed limit (never did when I lived there, why start Monday?), so you can imagine my surprise when I saw blue lights in my rearview mirror.  I’ve been driving in my hometown for 24 years, and except for one time on a highway when I was in college, I’ve never been pulled over.  There I was, nearly 40, with two children in the car, and I’m stopped by the PoPo in the middle of town.  I liked-t’aved died.  The kind young officer, however must have felt sorry for me.  Small Fry was wailing (hungry);  my auto insurance card for my car expired in May, but I had a current one for Tater Daddy’s vehicle; and when he nodded after I asked, “I bet you noticed my expired tags, didn’t you?” I showed him my failed inspection card from  90 minutes earlier.  He said, “Ma’am, bless your heart.  Let me just call in your license and I’ll be right back.”  Fortunately, I’m a dull driver and there was nothing on my record.  He let me go, politely asking me to slow down and drive safely.  Now, the whole time, Tater Tot is saying, “Hello, Mr. Nice Policeman! I wike your wights!”
  • We had a great time with Poopsie.  Tater Tot played.  We took him for a much needed haircut, and then we got ice cream.  It was a good afternoon.
  • We met Tater Daddy for supper at Cracker Barrel on the way home.  Tater Tot greeted him with, “Daddy, Mama talked to a nice policeman.”  There’s nothing like being thrown under the bus by your three-year-old.
  • In between all of these events, I’ve enjoyed NOT grading papers or writing lesson plans, both of which I’ll pay for later in the week.

So there you have it.  All the boring details of the House 0′ Tater.  I’m off to do laundry, dust, clean bathrooms, and change sheets.  You know…live the glamorous life I had before I went back to work.

Oh, one more thing.  I’ve decided to out myself.  I have a real name, and if you’re interested, it’s Marian.

Enjoy your Wednesday.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather U
    Oct 14, 2009 @ 07:59:17

    Now you gone and done it, so much for anonymity in the blogosphere ;). Praying that you get all your grading done in time! How did I not know you were a teacher until now? That posting about the Civil War made me smile… we live around ten minutes from Manassas Battlefield and one of my favorite wedding pictures was taken right in front of the statue of Stonewall Jackson – which is also coincidentally where my husband proposed.

    Reply

  2. JLI
    Oct 14, 2009 @ 08:52:42

    You make it darn hard NOT to laugh at your unfortunate luck! My word! Up here in our neck of the woods, the PoPo’s wouldn’t be so generous, even with one wailing baby and a cutie pie kiddo making nice. Guess you’re not so unfortunate after all! 🙂

    And for the love of all that’s right in the world, tell the school to stop workin’ ya so hard! I miss regular (hysterical) posts from you!

    PS – welcome “out”.

    Reply

  3. Lora Lynn
    Oct 14, 2009 @ 09:45:18

    I got pulled over last summer and I had to ask the policeman if I could open up my van door so the kids could see his uniform. He still gave me a ticket. Meanie.

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    Oct 14, 2009 @ 10:19:11

    Oh girl. I’m feelin’ for you. I was at Beth Moore all weekend. She is ahmazing, isn’t she? We had a great time in the Lord!!!

    I am trying not to laugh as I write this. You crack me up. And now you get to hear funny sayings from your kids all week. I hope the rain doesn’t drive them all insane.

    Lurve the blog.

    Reply

  5. Jenny
    Oct 26, 2009 @ 09:27:24

    I love it!!!!! Wouldn’t it be nice if everyone had to spend a whole day in a classroom full of children? I believe it would make our lives and jobs a lot easier. My EX (and I am sure you can see why he is an EX) used to tell me that I didn’t really work, I was a teacher so I just sat behind a desk all day. At the time, I was teaching first grade. I would love to meet the person that could sit behind a desk all day with 25 first graders!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

