Looking Back

I take a look through my pictures pretty frequently, mainly because I can’t believe how time seems to be flying faster a speeding bullet.  It’s not only that I can’t believe Tater Tot is 3-1/2 or that I’m…ahem…not in my 30’s anymore.  It’s that all this time has passed and, somehow, it feels as though I missed it.  Or I didn’t pay much attention to it.  Does that make sense?

For example, my cousin, Brick, just graduated from the University of Tennessee and will start graduate school in a couple of weeks.  I was a junior in high school when he was born, and we hadn’t had a baby in the family…unmmmm….since, well, ME!  Anyolehoo, we watched Brick grow into a fine young man, and although I know he’s 22, I don’t know where those 22 years went.  I don’t feel like 22 years have gone by.  Except when I get up off the floor and make that noise that old people make when they’re getting up off the floor.

As I was combing through my pictures, I found this one of my friend, Kristi, and me when we were in college.  Ah, youth.

Kristi and I became fast friends our freshman year, and I am blessed to count her still as one of my dearest friends.  Luckily, she lives in Starkville, and we get to see each other now and then.  A couple of months ago, we caught up with each other when Beth Moore was in Memphis.

I promise we were both wearing makeup.  The only camera I had was my iPhone, and it’s not the greatest when the lighting is bad.  (Yes, I am blaming the lighting.  Bad lighting also makes me look as if I’ve gained 30 pounds since college.)

While flipping through the photo file, I came across pictures from Tater Tot’s baptism, which brought back wonderful memories especially since we just celebrated Small Fry’s.  Here’s a picture of him in his gown.  After using it with Tater Tot, I vowed we’d never use it again should we ever have another child.  For one thing, he looked like a girl, even though it was made 60 years ago for a boy, and all the boys in our family have worn it since then.  Second, it could NOT have been comfortable.  It is made of some kind of gauze-y material, and it is hot.  I nearly sweated myself to death just holding him.  It was also nearly too tight around his chubby little arms.  My mother and I almost couldn’t get him out of it.

Here’s a picture of Tater Tot at 8 months old.  That’s my sweet Daddy holding him.  This is one of my absolute favorite pictures simply because of the expression on Daddy’s face.  It’s hard to believe that nearly three years have gone by since this picture was taken.

I could spend hours out of every day looking through old pictures.  I suppose that’s something my grandmother passed down to me.  She loved to pull out her old albums and say, “Here, honey.  I want you to look at these.”  You haven’t met Grandmama Maxine yet, have you?  Just wait.  I’ll have to tell you about her.  She was cute.  See for yourself.

And then there’s Tater Daddy.  We just marked 15 years together.  Here’s a picture from a trip to Disneyworld about three years after we married.  We were there on a business trip of his, and we had the day off to spend in the park.  Of course, it poured, which I didn’t think was allowed at Disneyworld!  We bought a couple of ponchos and hats and kept on going.  There’s still no one I’d rather be stuck with in the rain.

Looking back at all of  these pictures reminds me that time is a precious gift.  I’ve wasted a lot of it in my life.

My goal for the upcoming year is to spend my time more wisely than ever before and not to take this gift for granted.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heather U
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 09:46:55

    Love the photos, and may I say that I totally get what you are saying! I wrote a blog about the power of pictures last January and since it is early and I am still tired and have yet to have my daily dose of caffeine, I shall quote it rather than paraphrase, “Just what is it about pictures that makes them so very captivating? They can be about nature, friends, family, complete strangers, from long ago or present day it makes no matter. Each glorious photo whether in focus or slightly blurred, taken by a professional, proud parent or casual observer – all have the power to strike an emotion deep inside us. They can make us smile, laugh, cry, inspire us, horrify us, make us angry, happy or perplexed and the list goes on.”

    Reply

  2. Kristi
    Jan 05, 2010 @ 17:35:22

    Girl…I’d like to thank you a million times for putting those 2 lovely pictures out there for all the world to see….I particularly love the big bangs from college, but NOTHING takes the place of being stung under the eye while I slept the night before Beth Moore gave us a Word!! Can you say SWOLLEN face???? I love you more than my luggage, friend and am blessed beyond measure to have you in my life… now how’s that for all the world?????

    Reply

  3. Ellen S.
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 13:04:37

    Holy Smokes…whoever made that baptismal gown for your family must have used the same pattern as my Grandma and Aunt did. We’ve got the same one! Babies must’ve been smaller then, because we had to wedge all three of my chicklets into it.

    Reply

  4. D
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 21:06:48

    Seeing those pictures of your grandmother…wow! I loved her!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

