Good Daddy

I’m laid up with some sort of illness that I’m guessing is the adult version of RSV.  I’d like to say it’s not that bad, but since I hate to lie, I’ll go ahead and tell you that if I had to choose between this and, oh, a double root canal, I’d be lying in my dentist’s chair with a WELCOME sign strapped across my gums.

Being sick means that Tater Daddy is left to pick up my slack, and while I give him a hard time about a lot of things, this is one area in which he shines.  I’m not saying that he’s giddy about taking over most of the diaper duties and all things that usually fall under the umbrella of “Things Mama Just Does,” but he has enough sense to know that the sooner I’m well, the sooner things can get back to normal.

Since we got home from school yesterday and I staggered to bed, Tater Daddy has cleaned and straightened up the place, changed diapers, fed children, snuggled on demand, and taken care of everything else that has popped up.

I started looking back through my pictures from the last year, specifically those of Tater Daddy and Tater Tot, and it thrills me to my soul to see a Daddy so taken with being a daddy.  Because his 3-year-old is certainly taken with having him for his Daddy.

We had a really good snow about a year ago, and David (Tater Daddy’s real name) spent a good hour outside with Tater Tot building a snow bear and this snow dinosaur.  Tater Tot still talks about them.

We had a Cars-themed birthday party for Tater Tot.  Here he his with David, getting a little help with the candles.

Here they are on a trip to the zoo enjoying a lovely view of an elk’s behind.

It was cool enough on this particular visit for one of the Pandas to be outside doing what Giant Pandas do.

Last summer we went to a little horse show in our hometown.  You might think the main event is the part with the actual walking horses, but some of us showed up primarily for the Stick Horse Race.  Tater Tot and about nine other competitors did their best to ride those stick horses all the way around the track, but Tater Tot got tired about 2/3 the way around and decided it was too much.  He just couldn’t trot one more step in the 100-degree heat, so it was Daddy to the rescue.

This is one of my favorites, simply because it’s just another example of David stopping whatever it was that he was doing to help Tater Tot.  This time it was with his tools.

I realize that this picture wasn’t taken in the last 12 months.  It was when Tater Tot was a couple of months old, and it’s my favorite picture of the two of them.

It’s love.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thefarmerfiles
    Jan 10, 2010 @ 12:14:14

    There is just something about watching your hubs love on your son(s) that makes you love them all the more. 😉

    Reply

  2. Kelley
    Jan 10, 2010 @ 14:10:21

    What does Clairee say in Steel Magnolias when they’re at the salon getting ready for the wedding and when Shelby is talking about Jackson?

    “Jackson sounds like good people to me!”

    Well, Tator Daddy sounds like good people to me! : )

    Reply

  3. Quirky
    Jan 12, 2010 @ 19:11:19

    Awwww! Fabulous pictures! (Although I misread the stick horse race to say the SICK horse race…I was like, “They’re racing sick horses?!?” Luckily, I saw the stick horse in the picture before I called the ASPCA on you). Hope you (and your horse) get well soon! And tell Tater Daddy that he’s just wonderful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

