Stay Tuned for a Stay Put Socks Give-Away

For the last few months I’ve been chasing/hunting/calling/retrieving Small Fry’s socks.  It seems that I find them everywhere but on his scrumptious little chubby feet.  And while I love nothing more than a pair of baby feet, it is winter here in Memphis, and the child’s tootsies are like ice cubes most of the time due to the game he and I play called “You-put-em-on-me-and-I’ll-take-em-off.”

I tried longer socks, although I’m not sure why I thought that would work.  He simply had more sock to play with once he pulled the suckers off his feet.  I tried little shoes, but they got in the way of his trying to crawl.  I asked everyone I knew how to keep socks on an 8-month-old, and everyone I asked laughed in my face.  Then they asked what I did with Tater Tot, but I don’t think we had this much of a problem with him removing his socks.

Finally, I turned to the one all-knowing source:  the internet.  Oh, yes, I googled “how to keep socks on a baby,” and the most wonderful link came up for a product called Stay Put Socks.  What are Stay Put Socks, you ask?  Well, let me clue you in.  They’re little rubber rings that slip over your baby’s feet and rest loosely around his ankles.  They’ll let the socks slide only so far, but they won’t slip off.  It’s genius, I tell you.  GENIUS!  And affordable.  So I ordered a couple, one for Small Fry’s current size and one to grow into, and in just a few days they arrived.

Small Fry was more than happy to model how they work.  Here he is without them.

Here’s how one of the rings slips right over his chunky foot.

Now it’s on!

And the sock stays put!

After a day or so of not finding socks in the car seat, the crib, under chairs, and in Small Fry’s mouth, I emailed the owner of the company to tell her how much I like the product, and she emailed back.  How nice was that?  Then, she even agreed to do a give-away.

Y’all!  If you have a sock-tugging baby, you definitely want to get in on this.  If you don’t, you still want to get in on it because these would make a great baby gift for an expecting mother who has no idea how much time she’s going to spend putting socks back on her child.  I’m thinking of ordering several pairs to give as gifts.  (Pregnant friends, so sorry to spoil part of your surprise, but it’s for the greater good.  I know you understand!)

All you have to do is check out the website.  Just click on Stay Put Socks.  Then come back here and leave a comment.  We’ll give it until Tuesday, the 26th, and then a random winner will be selected.  I’ll get in touch with you, and your pair of Stay Put Socks will be sent directly to you from the company.

That is all, friends.  I am off to do all kinds of things, except pick up Small Fry’s socks!

75 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenna
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 09:49:06

    I am goin to have a little boy at the end of this month and would love to try them. I think I would order the Medium since it seems like the 6-9 month age range is when this sock losing thing becomes a problem!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: BooMama » Linky Interwebby Awesomeness 01.21.10
  3. Lauren
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 10:48:51

    Oh wow! How I need these things! My 3 month old is playing the same sock game with me! It’s a little warmer here in Georgia, but his toesies are still freezing!

    Reply

  4. Sarah
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 10:51:43

    My baby girl is due any day now. I had serious issues with keeping socks on our other three. I would love some of these… do you also have something that finds the millions on miscellaneous odd socks in my house and then find it’s pair?

    Reply

  5. Kaye
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 10:52:39

    I SO need these! Our little one cannot keep a pair on to save her life!!! Thanks for the giveaway!

    Reply

  6. Sheila
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 10:53:14

    Thank you for this- I am so glad to hear about them, because I am losing my mind replacing socks on my boy.

    Reply

  7. RootsAndRings
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 11:00:19

    Brilliant!!! Something to tuck into my “Things I Must Have When I Have A Baby” file!

    Are they sold in stores or only on the internet?

    Reply

  8. Meredith W
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 11:02:19

    OMG, how perfect are those? My sons socks are always falling off as he has really skinny legs. I can’t wait to get some!

    Reply

  9. Amy @ My Front Porch
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 11:08:02

    I just hopped over here from Boo Mama’s and I would LOVE to win some of these!

    Reply

  10. Carole
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 11:14:31

    Fun! I’ve never seen these before, but they are a great idea!

    Reply

  11. Cindy Moses
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 11:19:37

    Coolest thing!!! I would love to give these to some new moms in our church!

    Reply

  12. Jennifer
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 11:29:16

    Cute website! My 8 month old daughter needs these desperately! Her feet are always cold but it’s because she keeps pulling off her socks! Thanks for letting me know about them!

    Reply

  13. Beth
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 11:43:01

    These are so cool! I would love to have some to give as baby shower gifts!

    Reply

  14. Amy
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 11:44:54

    This is genius!! My sister is having her first baby in a month and these would make a great little gift for her. Thanks for spreading the word!

    Reply

  15. Jo
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 11:49:49

    These are awesome! My baby boy definitely needs these!

    Reply

  16. Jessica
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 12:01:15

    great idea!

    Reply

  17. Cheryl
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 12:06:54

    I have a 9 month old, so I FEEL your pain! Sure wish I would have found these earlier!!!

    Reply

  18. Valerie
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 12:20:34

    My son cannot keep socks on…do newborn socks ever stay on any baby’s feet?

    Reply

  19. Jenny
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 12:30:19

    My 7-month-old nephew is ALWAYS pulling off his socks!! My sister-in-law would love to have these!

    Reply

  20. Ellen S.
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 12:51:41

    Doesn’t this go in the category of “Why didn’t I think of that”? My 8-month old refuses to have socks on for more than a milli-second. My two labs think it’s way fun to pick up disposed sock and secretly carry it outside and leave it to turn to a sock-sicle. (We live in Michigan). Thanks for the heads-up on a clever product.

    Reply

  21. Eos Mom
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 13:04:20

    Genius! (Why didn’t I think of that?!) I’ve been pretty lucky with my second child keeping her socks on, but these would help with her feet getting lost in the legs of her footed pajamas. Thanks! (Or if I win, maybe I’ll give them to my friend who just had a baby.)

    Reply

  22. Catherine
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 13:08:32

    What a perfect idea!!! My 7-month-old has been on a sock strike since birth. We buy shoes just as devices to keep the socks on her feet, & it’s only a matter of minutes before she figures out how to get those off too. These are a great start!

    Reply

  23. Eva C.
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 13:21:47

    WOW!! What an amazing invention!! I am super excited about this giveaway. I have single socks that belong to my 8 month old all around our house! What a great idea! Sixe large would be magnificent!

    Reply

  24. Courtney P
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 13:22:54

    The owner/inventor of Stay Put Socks looks so nice!! The product looks very cool! Wish I had know about it for my first two babies! Now I have a little boy who I would love to try them out on! Thank you!

    Reply

  25. Carrie
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 13:31:42

    Oh my! I have a 6 month old baby girl and these would be simply amazing to get! We cannot get socks to stay on her feet for anything! These look great! Thank you!!

    Reply

  26. Brandi
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 13:42:24

    My sister is having a little boy next month. She would love these!

    Reply

  27. Courtney
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 13:51:31

    My friend just had a baby and I know these would save her a TON of time! I am hoping to get pregnant in the next year and I know I will have some of these in the baby dresser!

    Reply

  28. mary
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 13:58:08

    I’d love to win these–I’m finding socks all over my house since my little girl started crawling…I’m a little sad I just learned about this product since this is my third baby!

    Reply

  29. Jen Easley
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 13:58:53

    What an awesome idea! Thanks for inventing something that makes a mom’s life easier. I have two boys and one baby on the way. Socks seem to be something we can never keep track of! Hey, if you want to invent a sock container for the laundry room, I’ll buy that, too!

    Reply

  30. Beth Brehob
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 14:27:55

    these look great! my 5th was born at the end of October and she is already losing socks, just like the other 4 did. why did i not invent these???

    Reply

  31. Kelley
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 14:36:22

    I would LOVE to give these to Amy for that cute little peanut she just adopted. I cannot tell you how many times I had to tug up the little man’s socks when I was holding him on Monday. And all he was doing was sleeping!! : )

    Reply

  32. melanie
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 15:04:32

    i am expecting in march. boy would these make my life easier! thanks for the info. i will definitely have to put in a request for these.

    Reply

  33. AZ Dog Mom
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 15:19:26

    I’m due at the end of June so I’m constantly looking for great ideas like these for baby. Definitely going to bookmark that site in the event our little one is sock-removing fiend.

    Reply

  34. Michelle P.
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 15:31:29

    Interesting! They definitely look like they’re worth trying.

    Reply

  35. Vania
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 15:35:11

    My daughter’s socks fall off all the time, so I’d love to have these! What a great idea.

    Reply

  36. Keri
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 15:36:29

    Love them even at a year old i have this problem. My son thinks it is a game.

    Reply

  37. Mary C
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 16:08:44

    Awesome! My 7 month old leaves a trail of socks everywhere she goes!

    Reply

  38. Valerie
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 16:31:10

    I need these! My 3-month-old’s socks come off all the time – and we live in New York State – its freezing up here! 🙂

    Reply

  39. TallyMichelle
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 16:34:09

    Wow! What a brilliant concept.

    Reply

  40. Amanda H
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 17:01:14

    Wow! What a great idea! I’m getting tired of digging them out of the car seat!

    Reply

  41. Kelli Kegley
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 17:05:25

    What a great idea! I would probably order either the NB size (boy) or the L since he will be in that age range next winter!

    Reply

  42. EveryChapter
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 17:40:22

    What a blilliant idea! Oh I can think of two friends that need these and my daughter as well, really, brilliant… Thanks for hosting a give-a-way.

    Reply

  43. Rachel R
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 17:48:33

    Interesting concept! I am almost due with #4 and this would be a great item to have! No more searching for lost socks :o)

    Reply

  44. Leah
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 18:03:55

    We have tile floors so my 1 year old son has ice-cold feet all the time! He loves taking his socks off and chewing on them 🙂 These sound great!

    Reply

  45. Connie
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 18:14:58

    I would love to have these for a friend with a 6 month old! ! !

    Reply

  46. Addie
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 18:32:26

    Oh, that’s perfect! There are so many babies around here who could use these (and mamas, too!).

    Reply

  47. Superchikk
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 19:35:19

    What an awesome product! Love it!

    Reply

  48. Christy Q
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 20:09:39

    How cute! and what a brilliant idea! This would be perfect for my brother and his wife. I spent the weekend visiting with them and their oh-so-adorable baby boy and can’t tell you how many times I put my nephew’s socks back on. LOL So this would be an awesome thing to give them. I’m probably going to order a couple pairs anyway as gifts for them and all my friends who are expecting.

    Reply

  49. katherine
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 21:24:39

    what a great idea! we’re just getting into the sock-pulling stage with numero dos. fabulous give-away!

    Reply

  50. mike
    Jan 21, 2010 @ 22:33:00

    love this idea and it would be SO helpful for my sock-munching 7mo old!

    Reply

  51. Tara
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 08:51:54

    I have a friend with a chunky monkey, too! Thanks for a great giveaway!

    Reply

  52. Jess
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 10:49:48

    What a fabulous idea- definitely worth giving them a shot!

    Reply

  53. Casey
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 10:54:42

    My monkey’s legs are so chunky–socks don’t have a chance of staying put. I would love to give these a try. Thanks for the info!!

    Reply

  54. Rebecca Scott
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 12:00:10

    I SO need these for my little girl… we play the same game several times a day = )

    Reply

  55. Annie
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 12:13:24

    What a great idea! I have a 5 month old whose socks keep going off due to all his energetic “cycling” on the mat. It would be GREAT to win this.

    Reply

  56. Joy
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 12:22:17

    I would love to try these out on my little guy! He loves to take his socks off.

    Reply

  57. Leah
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 13:28:06

    My youngest is 6 months old and I wish there was something like these when my older two were little! I have lost count of lost socks at this point. I’d love to try them!

    Reply

  58. Sarah
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 13:28:06

    It’s a miracle! A miracle I NEED! =)

    Reply

  59. Mike
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 13:28:32

    These are awesome!

    Reply

  60. meghan @ spicy magnolia
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 17:17:34

    This post made me smile because I know now the whole missing sock phenomenon! Although, I only have to deal with in the car, so I don’t have it as bad as you. I find it intriguingly hilarious. 🙂

    Reply

  61. Jenn
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 19:15:30

    Leave it to a mom to create a solution to slipping socks!
    Great find, would love to have some. 🙂
    ~Jenn

    Reply

  62. Lisa Howell
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 22:23:56

    Thanks for putting this on your site! I would have never thought to google how to keep your babies socks on, but after looking at the video, it makes so much sense! Yea, wish I’d thought of it first!! I’ve got 2 small grand kids that could definately use this…Do they make them for adults? LOL Seem to keep losing those as well!

    Reply

  63. Lori @ The Davidson Den
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 02:34:41

    Wow. Four kids so far and I’ve looked for PLENTY of socks in my time. How nice to be done with that! (But still have the wee little socked feet around…) Got a good friend having a baby soon, too!!

    Reply

  64. Robin
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 08:39:00

    Those look awesome…and VERY affordable! Thanks for the info!

    Reply

  65. Amanda C
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 20:43:04

    Wow, I thought this was too good to be true – good find and thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  66. Sheila
    Jan 23, 2010 @ 22:17:26

    What a great idea. I am fixing to become a first time grandmother and love finding these cute ideas!!

    Reply

  67. Aunt Granny
    Jan 24, 2010 @ 17:52:41

    Those little silicon rings look like just the ticket! Thanks for showing them to us.

    Reply

  68. Angie
    Jan 24, 2010 @ 21:56:57

    These are soooo nifty!! I do believe that they may be one of the most perfect inventions for a baby (and mom!!)!

    Reply

  69. Rachel Mason
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 05:55:52

    How come I never went to google for this little gem? Genius!

    Reply

  70. Alicia M
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 12:46:14

    Genius! Absolutely genius. I wish I knew about these when my daughter was an infant – she thought socks were the greatest toy invented. I could never get her to keep them on her feet. And now I’m starting to play hide-and-seek with my 6 mo old son’s socks all day long as well. What is it about babies and their complete fascination with their socks??

    Reply

  71. Mary Helen
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 15:05:36

    These would be perfect for my 7-month old niece, Jenna. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  72. Rebecca Holland
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 15:38:30

    I have an 8mo old daughter who is always sending me on a seek-and-find mission for her socks. And like you, I was worried about hindering her crawling with shoes. AND, it’s winter in Minnesota and way too cold for bare tootsies here so these little things would be great!

    Reply

  73. Sally
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 15:58:20

    Such a great idea. My little girl is 7 months old and loves to pull on her socks. The pink L (9-12 month) would be perfect for us!

    Reply

  74. Chris
    Jan 25, 2010 @ 20:19:11

    How do people come up with stuff like this? I have an 8mo boy, and I just might have to buy a pair of these!

    Reply

  75. Kate Brotherson
    Jan 26, 2010 @ 17:03:52

    To ALL of you who left a comment I am giving you FREE shipping on your Stay Put Socks order. Go to http://www.stayputsocks.com to order and add the code “freeshipping” and you will get FREE shipping on your whole order. Thanks for all your comments. Please, tell all your friends and family about Stay Put Socks and make sure to order by Jan 31st to get this offer.
    Kate Brotherson,
    Owner, Stay Put Socks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

