Here’s Lookin’ at You, 40

In the last several months, I noticed that every single manufacturer had reduced the font size on every single label/tag/whatever.  Why, I had to squint to read the fine print that I’d never had to squint for before.  The very idea…

When I brought this injustice up to David, he reminded me that, “You just turned 29 for the 12th time.  Chances are, THAT’S the reason you’re having trouble reading the fine print.”  He didn’t buy my conspiracy theory at all.

So I made an appointment with our eye doctor, and several days ago he betrayed me and told me that yes, indeed, my eyesight has changed a little since my last visit.  And then he said, “Well, you just turned 40.  It’s time.”

Pass the Kleenex, please.  I’ve hit the age where people say that.  Bleh.  (Not that I’m not thankful to still be here or anything, but, you know, it DOES take some getting used to.  The being 40 thing, not the being here thing.  Oh, you know what I mean.)

I don’t need prescription glasses…yet.  My day is coming, though.  The doctor said I’ll probably need them next year.  Until then, he suggested buying a pair of these.

I found them at Stein Mart.  Turns out there are some pretty cute reading glasses out there, so I’m now on a mission to find the snazziest ones around.

I’m not crazy about wearing them, and they take some getting used to, even though the strength is only  1.00.  However, the fine print is now easier to read.

It says, “Welcome to 40, Grammaw.”

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 08:41:18

    You’re hilarious~manufacturers shrinking the size of their print?!?!?! Girl. You don’t look 40. You look like a beautiful 29ish sweet lady! I hope my sweet Drew spends next year with you. If you decide to grace us with your presence in 5th grade again next year, that is. Because if you decide NOT to, I totally understand after your year!!

    Reply

  2. JLI
    Jan 22, 2010 @ 12:08:15

    Yeah…Todd just went through the same thing two weeks ago. We had to buy him some cheaters too. Mr “I have 20/15 vision…EAGLE VISION BABY!”. Uh…yeah. They are 1.00 strength too, but he’s reading like a champ now! And you’re right, they do make some sweet cheaters these days. And the price beats the heck out of prescription glasses. I’d start saving for next year NOW if I was you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

