Embarrassing Moment #893

The last embarrassing moment I wrote about involved a bathing suit, or lack thereof, and a near-death experience in Hawaii.

This one involves a station wagon and Starbucks.  The times?  They have surely changed.  Still, a bunch of men got a good laugh, much like in Hawaii.

A couple or five days a week, I walk into the same Starbucks on my way to school and order one of three things:  a caramel apple spice, a caramel mocha (sometimes hot, sometimes iced), or a white chocolate mocha with a shot of peppermint (again, sometimes hot, sometimes cold).

Several times a week, a group of men meets at this particular Starbucks.  There are probably six or seven of them, and they always sit near the front of the store. You know…where THE BIG WINDOWS ARE.

Well, last Wednesday, I parked my station wagon, went in, got my caramel apple spice, and went back to my car.  I used the keyless remote, but when I got to my car, it was still locked.  I must have pushed the unlock button 15 times in a panic before I realized I could just use my key.  Of course, when I tried to turn the key, it wouldn’t budge.  By this time, I felt sick.  What was wrong with my car?  My phone is in my purse, and my purse is in my car.  Oh, stinking heck!  I’ll be late.  What do I do?  Do I have it towed for something like this?  And how can I pay for it when I can’t get to my purse, which is sitting right there on the seat…

That’s when I actually looked inside the car.  It was very clean, whereas mine looks like it’s driven by a mother with two small children.  That was my first clue.  The fact that there were no car seats was another.

I’d been standing there for what felt like a sweet forever before I realized that I was basically trying to steal someone else’s car.

I backed up a few steps, looked to my left, and there — three spaces over was my car.

And there, inside Starbucks, were half-a-dozen retired men chuckling and giving me the thumbs-up.

This time, at least, all of my clothes were on.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 08:45:00

    Thank you for giving me my first laugh of the day! I can just see you doing this! Oh, girl. I feel for ya. I’m going back to read about the bathing suit one!!!

    Reply

  2. Kerstin
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 16:06:55

    Ahhh- thanks for a great laugh! Needed that today!

    Reply

  3. Jen
    Feb 02, 2010 @ 23:17:42

    I love how you can make me laugh when it’s late, I’m tired, and I’m feeling stressed. It’s like I can SEE you doing these things. Or maybe, it’s that I can see ME doing these things. Last week, I walked up to another Traverse and went to open the door when the guy I was talking to said, “Isn’t yours white?” That’s when I looked up and realized I was trying to open the door to a silver one. Silver, really? Smooth, very very smooth. Bet he’ll want my number. Ha!

    Reply

  4. D
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 21:03:00

    ha! ha! Classic!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

