Slumping It

Once upon a time, I was a faithful blogger.  I stayed up late, well past everyone’s bedtime, to fill up a bunch of space with whatever ramblings were roaming around in this strange brain of mine.

And then, about three weeks ago, I hit a slump.  It was as though I’d lost my will to blog.  No blogworthy ideas (if there is such an animal) would come.

Things got really busy at school (translation:  grades were about to be due and I had a stack of papers as high as the roof to grade), Small Fry cut his bottom two teeth at the same time, we’ve been trying to adjust to life without Pearl, and Tater Tot still refuses to become fully potty-trained.

I’m not going to lie.  It hasn’t been pretty around here.

Plus, I think all the icky weather Memphis has seen in the last month did a number on my mood.

And did I mention all the grading I had to catch up on?  Because the sheer volume of it made me cry on more than one occasion.

The clouds seem to be lifting, because I’m feeling much like my old self again.  We’re on spring break this week.  GLORY!  Let me say that again.  WE ARE ON SPRING BREAK!  It looks like we’ll see a few days of rain, but by Thursday things should clear up and start looking like spring.  Now that we’ve all set our clocks ahead, things will look like spring for more hours of the day.

Maybe the slump is on its way out.

I still don’t have a ton of bloggy ideas, so feel free to suggest something.

I’ll just be here, unslumping.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 08:45:00

    Hey there Mama! Glad to see you back. Your absence is warranted to say the least! I hear ya on the weather. It’s been a very un-pretty winter in these parts too. I guess it’s better then having to take a boat or a sled to work, huh? But yeah, sunshine would definitely be welcome!

    My only suggestion for blog ideas is to see you back in full swing. You are more than mildly entertaining…I personally miss the hysterics that flow so freely from your fingertips!

    Sounds like you just need to find the humor in stuff again, but it’s no wonder that it’s been a little tough to do lately!

    Standing by!

    Reply

  2. Quirky
    Mar 16, 2010 @ 12:10:47

    I think everyone has been in a slump lately. And like you, I blame the weather. (Of course, as soon as it gets nice again, I’ll want to be outside instead of blogging, so maybe that won’t help either). But don’t sweat it…you just enjoy your spring break. We’ll still be here when inspiration strikes again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

