Happy McFrappe

I’ve always said that I don’t have an addictive personality, but I’m beginning to rethink that statement.

Oh, I’m not at all interested in liquor or the usual addictive substances.  Mine appear to be much worse.

Take television, for example.  I can quote more than the legal number of lines from Friends, Designing Women, and Will & Grace.  When those shows went off the air, I wept during each final episode.  I was practically in mourning when Friends left us, and I haven’t been faithful to a television cast since the show’s departure.  I just can’t take the pain of knowing it will end at some point.

Then there was last summer, when I stumbled upon the peach milkshakes from Chick-fil-A and thought I’d died an gone to heaven.  The bank called to tell me that a Chick-fil-A fan had stolen my debit card and was spending the contents of my checking account in very small increments.  I sort of lied and told them that the spender was me, but that my doctor ordered me to add more fruit to my diet.

As summer ended and the peach milkshakes went away, I went into severe withdrawal.  The good news was that I built up some reserves in my checking account just in time for the holidays.  That’s when Chick-fil-A brings out the peppermint milkshakes, and HO!HO!HO! Merry Christmas to me!  Once more, the bank called to tell me that my card had been confiscated, again, by the same Chick-fil-A bandit.  And, again, I had to tell them that all was well;  peppermint helps ease my nasty cough.

Of course, there’s always my dependence on diet coke, but I’m sure I’ve covered that one more than once.

My latest obsession must be the most delicious drink to pass these lips in decades, and it’s made by the McPeople at my new McFavorite McBeverage spot.  It’s the CARAMEL FRAPPE from McDonald’s.  D-I-V-I-N-E-O-M-I-T-E, people!  Why, today alone I’ve had three of them.  That’s right.  THREE!  And I’m not the least bit ashamed, because have I mentioned how D-I-V-I-N-E-O-M-I-T-E they are?  (I feel that I should add that I did not leave my house three times to get these drinks.  I was out and about all day, so getting one right after the other them throughout the day wasn’t hard.)

Fortunately for the McDonald’s Corporation, I have a long list of errands to run tomorrow, so I hope the city’s Mickey-D’s have stocked up on the frappe goods.  This new addiction has to carry me through ’til summer arrives and those peach milkshakes come in…

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katherine @ Grass Stains
    Mar 18, 2010 @ 09:00:51

    I haven’t had the frappe, so I’m going to have to get one! I’m a huge Chick-fil-A fan (milkshakes and everything else), too. I eat there like twice a week. And it shows.

    Reply

  2. kim sue
    Mar 21, 2010 @ 09:51:06

    all I can say is I am glad I don’t like coffee

    Reply

  3. Quirky
    Mar 26, 2010 @ 13:09:23

    I feel that way about the grape slushes at Sonic. Especially in the summer. Nothing like a grape slush after…well, doing anything. Which is why I have to deliberately avert my eyes whenever I pass a Sonic.

    LOVE that artificial grape flavor and sugar goodness!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

