T Minus 35 and Counting

There are 35 hours left in the school year, but who’s counting?

I am.

In 5 days, I’ll be free of

*  11-year-olds who talk back to adults;

*  students who think nothing of doing the opposite of what they’ve just been told;

*  one student in particular who thinks she’s running the show;

*  attitude;

*  kids who can’t miss baseball practice and, therefore, can’t do 8 math problems for homework; and

*  playing referee to a group of students who work really hard not to get along.

A hard year, you ask?

This has been the most difficult group of students I’ve ever taught.  I’ve always had perfect blood pressure, but every time I saw a doctor this year, the numbers were elevated.  “Mrs. Tater, are you under any extra stress?” they’d ask.  When I explained that I teach 5th grade, their response was to come back in June and see if the numbers were back to normal.

The year hasn’t been all bad, and all my kids aren’t behavior problems.  In fact, on the days I wanted to pretend that I didn’t have to go to work, I thought about the kids in my class who do cooperate, who are patient with the ones who don’t, who use good manners and are respectful.  They made it easier to get out of bed.

Despite the fact that this group made me want to pull my hair out, I’m still love teaching.  Somewhere after the 4th of July, when all teachers bemoan the fact that summer vacation is almost up (a lot of us go back August 2), I’ll get that old familiar itch to get into my classroom and start fixing it up for my incoming students.

Of course, the fact that I’m teaching 2nd grade may have something to do with it.  Because have I mentioned that I AM JUST A LITTLE BIT HAPPY ABOUT IT?  It’s like knowing that the Promised Land is right over the next hill.

I do wish my students well and hope that middle school will bring wonderful experiences and even a little maturity, if that’s possible during the middle school years.

And I’m sure that these kiddos are just as ready to get rid of me as I am to let them go.

So let the countdown begin.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kerstin
    May 16, 2010 @ 21:02:35

    I don’t blame you a bit for being excited for the end of the school year! This group of kids is unlike any other. I had the majority of the students listed in your checklist in my K class the year I was getting married. I *might* have had a nervous breakdown days before the year ended (I got married the weekend school was out). They are definitely a group you will never forget. I haven’t. lol ENJOY your summer. YOU DESERVE IT!!!

    Reply

  2. Kelley
    May 17, 2010 @ 15:22:15

    As my friend Andre’ would say: Bless your heart!

    Hang in there….the hours are getting shorter by the minute!

    Reply

  3. Jennifer
    May 17, 2010 @ 20:21:24

    I know who ALL those kids are!!! LOL. I agree with Kerstin, at least you’ll NEVER forget them! I am glad you have survived this year. Only 28 more hours. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

