Yesterday’s Lessons

Yesterday was the first day of summer vacation.  I have a long, long list of things to accomplish over the next eight or nine weeks, not the least of which is to clean this house until it smells like Pine-Sol from the street.  My goal was to get started Tuesday and work my way through the house by the end of the week.

Here’s what I learned yesterday.

*  Cleaning the bathroom with a one-year-old stuck to your leg is impossible.

*  Switching laundry from the washer to the dryer with a one-year-old stuck to your leg will slow things down.

*  Vacuuming is a real challenge when said one-year-old likes to attack the vacuum cleaner.  (This one is kind of fun because it makes me laugh.)

*  Three seconds after you put all toys away, the one-year-old and his older brother will pull it all out again.  With gusto.

*  Going to the grocery with two children strapped in the spaceship cart seems like a good idea.  Until the younger one starts to get on the older one’s every last nerve, which will happen around two minutes after entering the store.

*  Going to the mall to buy shoes for the little one always sounds like fun, except the part where he has on the new shoes and heads for the open door.  Did you know that sales people get a little testy if you run out of the store without paying first?  Well, they do.

*  When putting clean sheets on the bed, it is inevitable that your toddler will decide he wants to jump on the bed AT THAT MOMENT.  Never mind how many times we’ve read Five Little Monkeys.  At least he knows the risks.

*  Sitting on the sofa in the middle of the afternoon with both little boys cuddled next to you while a storm passes through is far better than having a perfectly neat house.

I love summer.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jenna
    May 26, 2010 @ 10:04:33

    So far nothing on my “to-do” list for the summer has gotten done… and I just have a 3 1/2 month old glued to my lap!

    Reply

  2. meghan @ spicy magnolia
    May 26, 2010 @ 14:17:11

    I SO get this…and I only have 1 kiddo! 🙂 Reading it made me feel stressed out until I got to the last statement, and then I breathed again. And remember, yep, that’s what’s important. I love picturing you with your boys all cuddled up!

    Reply

  3. Kelley
    May 26, 2010 @ 14:19:18

    Is it bad that as a late 30 something woman I still want to jump on the bed like a 4 year old? Granted, I’d hit the ceiling fan, but still…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

