Making a Dent

The bed in our guest room has been covered with my summer clothes for a couple of months.  That’s right.  A COUPLE OF MONTHS.  Argh!  I haven’t had time to pack away my winter clothes and put them out of the way to make room for my summer stuff, so the bed has been serving as storage space.  And it has driven me nuts.  So this morning I decided to tackle it. Here’s what I started out with.

This is the armoire that holds most of my stuff.  I’ve mentioned before that our house is OLD and kind of small, and one thing that was left out of the plans was closet space.  Our clothes are all over the place around here!

And here’s the bed.  Isn’t it awful?  It made me cringe every time I went in there.

It took a little while to get things rolling (and to keep two little boys who shall remain anonymous out of the way!), but before I knew it, the bed looked like this:

And here’s the armoire.

The top shelf is still messy, but it’s just full of jeans and things I won’t wear until the fall anyway, so I didn’t worry too much about it today.  (That’s my inner Scarlett coming out, don’t you know…)

While I was going through that huge pile of clothes, I came across a few things that I’ve held on to for YEARS.  I have no idea why I can’t get rid of them, but every year I put them right back in my summer stacks.

Here’s a shirt I got when I was in high school.  Our town hosted the Tennessee Peach Festival for a long time, and I bought these shirts one year.  I must have been a junior in high school, so that means this shirt is about 24 years old.  (I can’t believe I just wrote that.  Ug.)

This is probably one of the first things I bought after pledging Chi Omega my freshman year at Mississippi State.  I just can’t let them go, but I can’t explain why.

Finally, this is a shirt David and I bought when we were in Hawaii on our honeymoon in 1994.  We came up on a vendor who had tons of shirts for dirt cheap, and we brought about a dozen home.  I have to say that, stained as it is, this is probably the most comfortable shirt I have.  Maybe that’s why I can’t give it up.

So there we have it.  One task crossed off my to-do list and one little trip down memory lane.

I’m ready for a diet coke and a nap!  Haha!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Diane
    May 27, 2010 @ 21:44:06

    And I’ve seen the Peach Festival t-shirt and Chi O shorts on Tater Mama!

    Reply

  2. Kelley
    May 28, 2010 @ 11:17:57

    GOOD FOR YOU!

    And I have to say I LOVE that headboard! Very, very cool. : )

    Reply

  3. mary carol
    May 29, 2010 @ 11:34:11

    Marian—Rudy and I can not remember 24 years ago, but we believe we printed those t-shirts. That’s a keeper, indeed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

