Out With the Old

I’d like to say, “In with the new,” as well, but nothing new is coming our way.

However, we got rid of our love seat Saturday.  This is the one I’m talking about.

It’s such an eyesore.  We had it recovered a few years ago, and we thought the fabric swatch was so great.  Then we got it back from the upholsterer and realized that we’d made a bad-bad-bad choice.  Ever since then we  have been waiting for the day when it would be time to have it hauled off.

The love seat has been through everything.  Two houses.  Five dogs.  Two children, one of whom has gotten sick on it more than once.  (I’m sorry, Febreeze.  You’re good, but you can’t undo 13 years of torture and abuse and the smells that come with it.)

I called the Salvation Army last week, and they sent a truck Saturday afternoon to take it away.

It would be nice to think that a new love seat will come and take its place, but we need more furniture like we need another dog.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JLI
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 08:20:32

    You’re right – great swatch.

    Not so great in large amounts. A little…uh…busy?
    **************************************************
    Can you imagine if we’d recovered a regular sofa with it? Mercy! I feel so much calmer now that it’s gone!

    Reply

  2. Kelley
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 11:28:34

    I hope you find something fun and comfy! We made a new bed purchase this weekend and let me tell you…it cannot be delivered fast enough!!
    *********************************************
    Oooh! I love new bedroom furniture! You’ll have to post pictures. After David and I married, the first thing we bought was a bigger bed. Two tall people do not do well in a full-size bed. We always joke that our perfect bed would be two kings pushed together! Haha!

    Reply

  3. Mrs Lemon
    Jun 01, 2010 @ 22:36:08

    I love that you know just how awful your couch is. I loved my big red couch in the store, but now I’m pretty sick of it. There is no way it’s going to last 13 years, if I have anything to say about it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

